Paulo Avelino, Charlie Dizon of 'Fan Girl' win top awards at 4th EDDYS | Inquirer Entertainment

Paulo Avelino, Charlie Dizon of ‘Fan Girl’ win top awards at 4th EDDYS

By: - Entertainment Editor
, / 03:24 PM April 05, 2021
paulo avelino, fan girl

Pauli Avelino (R) and Charlie Dizon in the movie “Fan Girl.” Image: Screengrab from YouTube/Project 8 Projects

“Fan Girl” bagged seven of 14 trophies at the 4th EDDYS (Entertainment Editors’ Choice) awards show on Easter Sunday, April 4. The 2020 film took the Best Actress and Best Actor awards for its lead stars Charlie Dizon and Paulo Avelino, respectively.

Antoinette Jadaone emerged as Best Director for the same film, which also got Best Screenplay honors.


“Fan Girl” was also hailed as the 4th EDDYS Best Picture. In the technical categories, it took home Best Sound and Best Editing.

The awards night celebrated several milestones. It was the first online edition, aired on the Film Development Council of the Philippines channel ( and simulcast on the Society of Philippine Entertainment Editors (SPEEd) Facebook Page, as well as on various online platforms of SPEEd members.


Also emerging as winners were Best Supporting Actor Edgar Allan Guzman for the “Coming Home” and Best Supporting Actress Shaina Magdayao for “Tagpuan.”

Robi Domingo hosted 4th The EDDYS, which was directed by OPM icon and singer-songwriter Ice Seguerra. It was organized by SPEEd and produced in participation with the FDCP.

Stars graced the virtual EDDYS with their messages and well-wishes, highlighted by the participation of Batangas 6th district representative and Star for All Seasons Vilma Santos. She presented the nominees for best actress while AKTOR chairman of the board Dingdong Dantes presented the best actor nominees.

Santos was the EDDYS first ever best actress winner for “Everything About Her” while Dantes was the 3rd EDDYS best actor for his role in “Sid & Aya.”

The 4th EDDYS also presented the first Isah V. Red awardees, in honor of Red as the late SPEEd founding chairman.

Here is the complete list of winners at the 4th EDDYS of SPEEd:

Best Picture – Fan Girl


Best Director – Antoinette Jadaone (Fan Girl)

Best Actor – Paulo Avelino (Fan Girl)

Best Actress – Charlie Dizon (Fan Girl)

Best Supporting Actor – Edgar Allan Guzman (Coming Home)

Best Supporting Actress – Shaina Magdayao (Tagpuan)

Best Screenplay – Antoinette Jadaone (Fan Girl)

Best Cinematography – Rody Lacap (Magikland)

Best Visual Effects – Richard Francis & Ryan Grimarez (Magikland)

Best Musical Score (tie) – On Vodka, Beers And Regrets; The Boy Foretold By The Stars

Best Production Design – Ericson Navarro (Magikland)

Best Sound – Vincent Villa (Fan Girl)

Best Editing – Benjamin Tolentino (Fan Girl)

Best Original Theme Song – Ulan (The Boy Foretold By The Stars)


‘The General’s Daughter’ bags top acting awards in 18th Gawad Tanglaw

Janine Gutierrez and Elijah Canlas win best actress, actor in Gawad Urian 2020

‘Aswang’ wins FAMAS 2020 best picture; Elijah Canlas, Janine Gutierrez, Kristofer King earn top acting awards

Read Next
Follow @ervinsantiago7 on Twitter
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Antoinette Jadaone, Charlie Dizon, Eddy’s, Fan Girl, Paulo Avelino
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2021 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.