Ed Sheeran's 4th studio album '=' to drop this October | Inquirer Entertainment

Ed Sheeran’s 4th studio album ‘=’ to drop this October

/ 04:56 PM August 20, 2021

Ed Sheeran’s fourth studio album is titled “= (Equals).” Image: Facebook/@EdSheeranMusic

British superstar Ed Sheeran will finally be releasing his fourth studio album “= (Equals)” this October.

“Equals” will come out on Oct. 29 and is now available for preorder on multiple platforms, CD, vinyl and cassette, Sheeran announced on social media yesterday, Aug. 19.


“I started writing and recording this album June 2017. [It’s] been a long, long process. I’ve been through love, loss, new life, grief and everything in between during the whole period of writing it, and I feel like it’s really a coming of age record,” the singer shared.

“I’ve never been more proud of a body of work, or more excited/nervous for you all to hear it,” he added.


Posted by Ed Sheeran on Thursday, August 19, 2021

The said album’s name is consistent with the math symbols theme of Sheeran’s first three albums, namely “+ (Plus),” “x (Multiply)” and “÷ (Divide).”

Here is the official tracklist of “=”:

  1. Tides
  2. Shivers
  3. First Times
  4. Bad Habits
  5. Overpass Graffiti
  6. The Joker And The Queen
  7. Leave Your Life
  8. Collide
  9. 2step
  10. Stop The Rain
  11. Love In Slow Motion
  12. Visiting Hours
  13. Sandman
  14. Be Right Now

“The next song off of it is called ‘Visiting Hours,’ which I finished for my friend Michael who sadly passed away this year,” Sheeran said.

Those who will preorder the album will also be getting the said song, which is also now available on all platforms.


“Lots more music to come, but for now I hope you are as excited as me for this album,” Sheeran said.

The announcement comes shortly after Sheeran released his latest single, “Bad Habits.” Prior to releasing the song in June, Sheeran had a four-year hiatus.

The said hiatus was not really a total break, however, as Sheeran still worked on some music during that time. For one, he released in December last year “Afterglow.”

In 2019, he also dropped the collaborative studio album titled “No. 6 Collaboration Project,” where he partnered with several artists including Khalid, Chance the Rapper, Eminem and H.E.R., among others.

During his long break, Sheeran also tied the knot with Cherry Seaborn. They also welcomed their first child, Lyra, in September 2020.  /ra


Ed Sheeran to end 4-year break with new single ‘coming out in a few weeks’

Ben&Ben teases collab with Chito Miranda: ‘Dream come true!’

The hottest entertainment news straight to your inbox

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.
Read Next
Follow @IBiongINQ on Twitter
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: ed sheeran, new albums, new music, Pop stars, United Kingdom
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

Subscribe to our entertainment news

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and
acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

© Copyright 1997-2022 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.