Lacson film biggest winner, loser | Inquirer Entertainment

Lacson film biggest winner, loser

By: - Reporter
/ 03:30 PM December 28, 2013

Robin Padilla

The Joyce Bernal action-drama “10,000 Hours” is the most awarded entry but is among the least watched of the eight competing films in this year’s Metro Manila Film Festival.

Loosely based on the life story of former Sen. Panfilo “Ping” Lacson, “10,000 Hours” romped off with most of the trophies, including best picture, at the awards ceremony held at the Meralco Theater in Pasig City on Friday night.


But its lead star Robin Padilla, who won best actor, pleaded with the public to come and see the film. “Si Vic Sotto, boundary na. Ang ‘Girl, Boy’ at ‘Pagpag,’ boundary na rin. Kami, hindi pa,” Padilla said in his thank-you speech. “Wala man sa atin ang salapi, pero na sa atin ang karangalan. Sa mga hindi pa po nakakanuod, oras na para panoorin ninyo.”

Sotto is a cast member of the Marlon Rivera comedy film “My Little Bossings,” which has been the top earner since the festival opened on Christmas Day.


According to records of the Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA), the film fest organizer, “10,000 Hours” is currently in the bottom four of the box-office race.

Another comedy film, Wenn Deramas’ “Girl, Boy, Bakla, Tomboy,” is a close second. The Frasco Mortiz horror-drama “Pagpag: Siyam na Buhay” is third and Chris Martinez’s comedy “Kimmy Dora: Ang Kiyemeng Prequel” is fourth.

Philippine culture

“10,000 Hours” was also the recipient of the Gatpuno Antonio Villegas Cultural Award, which is given to the film that “best portrays Philippine culture and the Filipino people to the world.”

It also won the Fernando Poe Jr. Memorial Award for Film Excellence for upholding “nationalism and the fight for the poor and the disadvantaged.”

Joyce Bernal brought home the best director trophy, while Pen Medina took best supporting actor award.

The best screenplay award went to Ryllah Epifania Berico and the best story trophy to Neil Arce, Bela Padilla, Peter Serrano and Dos Quizon, all for “10,000 Hours.”


“10,000 Hours” copped most of the technical awards, beginning with best cinematography for Marissa Floirendo, best editing for Marya Ignacio, best production design for Joey Luna, best visual effects for Central Digital, best musical score for Teresa Barrazo and best sound recording for Emmanuel Clemente.

Second best picture

“Girl, Boy, Bakla, Tomboy” was hailed as second best picture. It was also the recipient of the Most Gender Sensitive Film (Main Competition) Award. “My Little Bossings” won third best picture.

Maricel Soriano, a no-show in the ceremony, won the best actress award for her performance in “Girl, Boy, Bakla, Tomboy.”

The best supporting actress award was handed to Aiza Seguerra for her work in “My Little Bossings” while the film’s lead star, Ryzza Mae Dizon, won the best child performer trophy.

“Pagpag: Siyam na Buhay” won two awards—youth’s choice award and best makeup for Leslie Lucero and Mountainrock Productions. Chito Roño’s action-thriller film “Boy Golden: Shoot to Kill” won best float.

Film fest entries “Pedro Calunsod: Batang Martir” (Francis Villacorta) and “Kaleidoscope World” (Eliza Cornejo) failed to bring home any award.


New Wave

Inspired by the growing number of independently produced films, the MMDA came up with a category for the independent genre in 2010 and called it New Wave. This year, the drama “Dukit” won New Wave best picture and Armando Lao, best director. Actors Bambalito Lacap, Willy Layug and Bor Ocampo shared the best actor award.

The Alvin Yapan film about schizophrenia, “Mga Anino ng Kahapon,” won the special jury prize while its lead star, Agot Isidro, bagged the best actress trophy.

Gino Santos and Aloy Adlawan’s “Island Dreams” was awarded most gender-sensitive film for the New Wave category while Far Eastern University’s “Hintayin Mo Sa Seq. 24” was hailed as the most gender-sensitive student film.

De La Salle Lipa’s “Ang Paglisan” won the student short film best picture award while the best animated picture honor went to Dennis Sebastian’s “Kaleh and Mbaki.”

Mapua Institute of Technology’s “#NoFilter” won the special jury prize (student shorts category) and Omar Aguilar’s “Ang Lalong ni Kulakong” took the animation jury prize.

Optical Media Board chair Ronnie Ricketts received a special recognition from the MMDA for his campaign against film piracy.

Daniel Padilla was the male star of the night while Eugene Domingo was the female star of the night.


10,000 Hours’ arouses curiosity on Twitter

Robin Padilla wins Best Actor; ‘10,000 Hours’ named MMFF Best Picture

The complete MMFF 2013 guide

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: “Girl, “Kimmy Dora: Ang Kiyemeng Prequel”, “Pagpag: Siyam na Buhay”, 000 Hours, 10, 39th Metro Manila Filmfest, Bakla, Boy”, Chris Martinez, Entertainment, Frasco Mortiz, Meralco Theater, Metro Manila Film Festival, MMFF, MMFF 2013, Movies, My Little Bossings, Robin Padilla, Sen. Panfilo “Ping” Lacson, Tomboy’’, Vic Sotto, Wenn Deramas
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.
Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our entertainment news

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

© Copyright 1997-2023 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.