Morrissey announces forthcoming covers album ‘California Son’

/ 11:54 PM December 06, 2018

British singer Morrissey. Image: AFP/Diego Tuson

After last year’s “Low in High School” album, the former Smiths frontman has announced a new album of covers called “California Son”.

The artist shared the track list for his forthcoming covers album on his website. “California Son” will feature covers of songs by the likes of Dionne Warwick, Bob Dylan and Joni Mitchell.


The musician’s message does not, however, include a release date.

The Deluxe Edition of Morrissey’s most recent album, “Low in High School”, is slated for release Friday, Dec. 7.


Here is the “California Son” track list:

Jobriath – “Morning Starship”
Joni Mitchell – “Don’t Interrupt the Sorrow”
Bob Dylan – “Only a Pawn in Their Game”
Buffy Sainte Marie – “Suffer the Little Children
Phil Ochs – “Days of Decision”
Roy Orbison – “It’s Over”
Laura Nyro – “Wedding Bell Blues”
Dionne Warwick – “Loneliness Remembers What Happiness Forgets”
Gary Puckett & the Union Gap – “Lady Willpower”
Carly Simon – “When You Close Your Eyes”
Tim Hardin – “Lenny’s Tune”
Melanie – “Some Say I Got Devil”


WATCH: Eminem teases ‘Good Guy’ video featuring Jessie Reyez

Guns N’ Roses bassist Duff McKagan has new solo album coming 2019

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: covers, covers album, Dionne Warwick, Joni Mitchell, Morrissey
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2020 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.