Angel Locsin, ER Ejercito win top acting honors in 29th Star Awards for Movies | Inquirer Entertainment

Angel Locsin, ER Ejercito win top acting honors in 29th Star Awards for Movies

By: - Reporter
/ 11:25 PM March 10, 2013

ER Ejercito and Angel Locsin. Photo by Allan Policarpio

MANILA, Philippines—Angel Locsin, star of the family drama “One More Try,” and ER Ejercito of the bio epic “El Presidente” won the top acting honors in the 29th PMPC Star Awards for Movies Sunday night.

“El Presidente,” which also stars Superstar Nora Aunor, won the Movie of the Year award for mainstream cinema. Movie of the Year award for the indie category went to “Alagwa.” The annual awards are given out by the Philippine Movie Press Club.


Carlo Aquino (“Mater Dolorosa”) was named Movie Supporting Actor of the Year while Janice de Belen (“Tiktik: The Aswang Chronicles”) bagged the Movie Supporting Actress of the Year award.


Mark Meily won the award for Movie Director of the Year for “El Presidente” in the mainstream category. Ian Dean Loreños got the award for the indie “Alagwa.”

The rest of the awardees are as follows:

— Child Performer of the Year—Bugoy Cariño for “Alagwa”

— New Movie Actress of the Year—Tippy dos Santos for “I Do Bidoo Bidoo” and Kim Komatsu for “Mga Mumunting Lihim” (tie)

— New Movie Actor of the Year—Neil Coleta, “I Do Bidoo Bidoo”

— Cinematographer of the Year—Odyssey Flores for “Thy Womb” (indie); Carlo Mendoza for “El Presidente”(mainstream).


— Ulirang Alagad ng Pelikula sa Likod ng Kamera Lifetime Achievement Award—veteran cinematographer Romy Vitug

— Screenwriter of the Year—Ian Loreños for “Alagwa” (indie); Mark Meily, “El Presidente” (mainstream)

— Production Designer of the Year—Brillante Ma. Mendoza for “Thy Womb” (indie); Danny Red and Joel Bilbao, “El Presidente” (mainstream)

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

— Darling of the Press—Manila Vice mayor Isko Moreno
— Nora Aunor Ulirang Artista Lifetime Achievement Award—Sen. Lito Lapid.

TAGS: Angel Locsin, Celebrities, Entertainment, ER Ejercito, Star Awards

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.