Binibining Pilipinas 2024 crowns Myrna Esguerra, Jasmin Bungay
New queens also win P1 million each

Binibining Pilipinas 2024 crowns Abra’s Myrna Esguerra, Pampanga’s Jasmin Bungay

/ 01:12 AM July 08, 2024

Click this link for Binibining Pilipinas 2024 Live Updates!!!

Binibining Pilipinas 2024 crowns Abra's Myrna Esguerra, Pampanga's Jasmin Bungay

Binibining Pilipinas winners Abra’s Myrna Esguerra, and Pampanga’s Jasmin Bungay. Images from Armin P. Adina

Two new queens became instant millionaires, Binibining Pilipinas International Myrna Esguerra from Abra and Binibining Pilipinas Globe Jasmin Bungay from Pampanga, at the culmination of the Bb. Pilipinas 2024 competition, the national pageant’s 60th edition.

The ceremonies celebrating the most enduring national pageant’s 60th anniversary began Sunday night, July 7, at the Smart Araneta Coliseum at the Araneta City in Quezon City, and ended past midnight on Monday, July 8.

For the milestone celebration, Binibining Pilipinas Charities Inc. (BPCI) awarded its biggest cash prize ever, and also gave P400,000 each to first runner-up Christal Jean de la Cruz from Zambales and second runner-up Trisha Martines from Pila Laguna . Forty ladies competed in this year’s competition.


The recently-concluded coronation show was the grandest ever for the Binibining Pilipinas pageant, with more than 100 former winners assembled on stage, including Miss Universe winners Gloria Diaz, Margie Moran, and Pia Wurtzbach who also sat at the judging panel, and Catriona Gray who was one of the hosts.


READ: What Bb. Pilipinas queens Angelica Lopez and Anna Lakrini would do with P1M prize

Binibining Pilipinas 2024 crowns Abra's Myrna Esguerra, Pampanga's Jasmin Bungay

The winners of the Binibining Pilipinas 2024. Image from Armin P. Adina

Bea Santiago, the fifth Miss International winner from the Philippines, was also one of the judges, while 2016 Miss International Kylie Verzosa was one of the hosts.

Also part of the all-female hosting team were 2016 Miss Grand International first runner-up Nicole Cordoves, 2014 Binibining Pilipinas Universe MJ Lastimosa, and 1993 Miss World princess Ruffa Gutierrez.

Reigning Miss International Andrea Rubio flew all the way from Venezuela for the 2024 Binibining Pilipinas pageant, where she sat at the judging panel, and helped crown Esguerra.

Esguerra is set to compete in the 63rd Miss International pageant next year. Her predecessor Angelica Lopez is scheduled for the 62nd edition of the global tilt in Japan in November.

Bungay will represent the Philippines in The Miss Globe pageant later this year. She received her national title from Anna Lakrini, who finished third in the international competition last year.


Full circle moment

The significance of the coronation was not lost on Catriona Gray who served as one hosts of the event.

“In 1964, 60 years ago, and the 60th year this year, we crowned our first Binibining Pilipinas queen. Her name was Myrna Panlilio. And this year in 2024 60 years later, would you believe that we have just crowned another Binibining Pilipinas queen and her name is Myrna Esguerra?” she said.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

Pageant organizers earlier in the night paid tribute to the Binibining Pilipinas queens who have passed on, beginning with Panlilio, who died in July 16, 2009.

TAGS: Binibining Pilipinas

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.