Harry Styles, Billie Eilish, The Weeknd lead nominees for 2021 iHeartRadio Music Awards | Inquirer Entertainment

Harry Styles, Billie Eilish, The Weeknd lead nominees for 2021 iHeartRadio Music Awards

/ 12:26 PM April 08, 2021
Watermelon Sugar, Harry Styles

Image: screengrab via YouTube/Harry Styles

LOS ANGELES — Fox and iHeartMedia have announced the nominees for the 2021 iHeartRadio Music Awards. Following 2020’s canceled live TV broadcast, this year’s event will air live from the Dolby Theatre in Los Angeles on May 27.

The ceremony celebrates the most-played artists and songs across iHeartRadio platforms and will feature a new category, “TikTok Bop of the Year,” to reflect the growing importance of the digital space in music. Nominees include “Blinding Lights” by the Weeknd, “Say So” by Doja Cat and “WAP” by Cardi B featuring Megan Thee Stallion, among others.


“Blinding Lights” is also up for the ceremony’s top prize, for which the Weeknd will compete against Post Malone (“Circles”), Dua Lipa (“Don’t Start Now”), DaBaby and Roddy Ricch (“ROCKSTAR”) and Harry Styles (“Watermelon Sugar”).

“The iHeartRadio Music Awards is a true awards show recognizing the artists and songs fans have listened to and loved all year long,” said John Sykes, iHeartMedia president of entertainment enterprises.


Fans will determine the winners of a slew of categories, including Best Fan Army, Best Lyrics, Best Cover Song, Best Music Video, the Social Star Award and Favorite Music Video Choreography Award. Voting begins today and ends on May 19 at 11:59 p.m. ET.

Billie Eilish

Billie Eilish in “NOT MY RESPONSIBILITY”. Image: screengrab from YouTube/Billie Eilish

Here’s a list of the nominees:

Song of the Year: “Blinding Lights” – The Weeknd; “Circles” – Post Malone; “Don’t Start Now” – Dua Lipa; “ROCKSTAR” – DaBaby featuring Roddy Ricch; “Watermelon Sugar” – Harry Styles

Female Artist of the Year: Ariana Grande, Billie Eilish, Dua Lipa, Megan Thee Stallion, Taylor Swift

Male Artist of the Year: Harry Styles, Justin Bieber, Post Malone, Roddy Ricch, The Weeknd

Best Duo/Group of the Year: BTS Dan + Shay, Jonas Brothers, Maroon 5, twenty one pilots

Best Collaboration: “Go Crazy” – Chris Brown & Young Thug; “Holy” – Justin Bieber featuring Chance the Rapper; “I Hope” – Gabby Barrett featuring Charlie Puth; “Mood” – 24kGoldn featuring iann dior; “Savage” (Remix) – Megan Thee Stallion featuring Beyonce


Best New Pop Artist: 24kGoldn, blackbear, Doja Cat, JP Saxe, Pop Smoke

Alternative Rock Song of the Year: “Bang!” – AJR; “Bloody Valentine” – Machine Gun Kelly; “everything i wanted” – Billie Eilish; “Level Of Concern” – twenty one pilots; “Monsters” – All Time Low featuring blackbear

Alternative Rock Artist of the Year: AJR, All Time Low, Billie Eilish, Cage the Elephant, twenty one pilots

Best New Rock/Alternative Rock Artist: Ashe, Dayglow, Powfu, Royal & The Serpent, Wallows

Rock Song of the Year: “Death By Rock And Roll” – The Pretty Reckless; “Patience” – Chris Cornell; “Shame Shame” – Foo Fighters; “Shot In The Dark” – AC/DC; “Under The Graveyard” – Ozzy Osbourne

Rock Artist of the Year: AC/DC, Five Finger Death Punch, Ozzy Osbourne, Shinedown, The Pretty Reckless

Country Song of the Year: “Even Though I’m Leaving” – Luke Combs; “I Hope” – Gabby Barrett; “Nobody But You” – Blake Shelton with Gwen Stefani; “One Margarita” – Luke Bryan; “The Bones” – Maren Morris

Country Artist of the Year: Blake Shelton, Luke Bryan, Luke Combs, Maren Morris, Thomas Rhett

Best New Country Artist: Ashley McBryde, Gabby Barrett, HARDY, Ingrid Andress, Jameson Rodgers

Dance Song of the Year: “Head & Heart” – Joel Corry x MNEK; “ily (i love you baby)” – Surf Mesa featuring Emilee; “Lasting Lover” – Sigala & James Arthur; “Rain On Me” – Lady Gaga & Ariana Grande; “Roses” (Imanbek Remix) – SAINt JHN

Dance Artist of the Year: Anabel Englund, Diplo, Marshmello, Surf Mesa, Tiesto

Hip-Hop Song of the Year: “High Fashion” – Roddy Ricch featuring Mustard; “Life Is Good” – Future featuring Drake; “ROCKSTAR” – DaBaby featuring Roddy Ricch; “Savage” (Remix) – Megan Thee Stallion featuring Beyonce; “The Box” – Roddy Ricch

Hip-Hop Artist of the Year: DaBaby, Lil Baby, Megan Thee Stallion, Pop Smoke, Roddy Ricch

Best New Hip-Hop Artist: Jack Harlow, Moneybagg Yo, Pop Smoke, Rod Wave, Roddy Ricch

R&B Song of the Year: “B.S.” – Jhene Aiko featuring H.E.R.; “Go Crazy” – Chris Brown & Young Thug; “Heat” Chris Brown featuring Gunna; “Playing Games” – Summer Walker; “Slide” – H.E.R. featuring YG

R&B Artist of the Year: Chris Brown, H.E.R., Jhene Aiko, Snoh Aalegra, Summer Walker

Best New R&B Artist: Chloe x Halle, Lonr., Mahalia, Skip Marley, Snoh Aalegra

Latin Pop/Reggaeton Song of the Year: “Caramelo” – Ozuna; “Dakiti” – Bad Bunny & Jhay Cortez; “Hawai” (Remix) – Maluma & The Weeknd; “RITMO (Bad Boys For Life)” – Black Eyed Peas & J Balvin; “Tusa” – KAROL G & Nicki Minaj

Latin Pop/Reggaeton Artist of the Year: Bad Bunny, J Balvin, KAROL G, Maluma, Ozuna


Harry Styles, Olivia Wilde spotted holding hands, spark dating rumors

WATCH: Billie Eilish releases ‘NOT MY RESPONSIBILITY’ short film against body shaming

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Billie Eilish, Blake Shelton, Gwen Stefani, Harry Styles, Taylor Swift
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2021 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.