Kathryn Bernardo, Sarah Geronimo, Alden Richards vie for top acting honors at 36th PMPC Star Awards | Inquirer Entertainment

Kathryn Bernardo, Sarah Geronimo, Alden Richards vie for top acting honors at 36th PMPC Star Awards

/ 07:08 PM March 18, 2021

WATCH: First teaser for Kathryn-Alden’s ‘Hello, Love, Goodbye’

Alden Richards (left) and Kathryn Bernardo in “Hello, Love, Goodbye” (Image: courtesy of Star Cinema)

Sarah Geronimo, Kathryn Bernardo and Alden Richards will be going against other stars for the top acting titles in the 36th Philippine Movie Press Club (PMPC) Star Awards for Movies.

Bernardo and Richards were nominated for their roles in Cathy Garcia-Molina’s “Hello, Love, Goodbye,” the highest-grossing Filipino film, while Geronimo was recognized for her role in Jun R. Lana’s “Unforgettable.”


Bernardo and Geronimo are vying for the Movie Actress of the Year award alongside Bea Alonzo, Janine Gutierrez, Judy Ann Santos and veteran actress Angie Ferro, among other stars.


Richards is, meanwhile, competing against Aga Muhlach,  Carlo Aquino, Raymond Bagatsing and Elijah Canlas, among others, for the Movie Actor of the Year title.

“Hello, Love, Goodbye” and “Unforgettable” are also nominees for the Movie of the Year title and are going against “Quezon’s Game,” “LSS,” “The Panti Sisters,” “Maria” and “Write about Love.”

Here is the full list of nominees released by the PMPC:

Movie of the Year:

  • “Hello, Love, Goodbye” (Star Cinema)
  • “LSS” (Globe Studios and Dokimos Media Inc.)
  • “Maria” (BlackOps Studios Asia and Viva Films)
  • “Quezon’s Game” (Star Cinema, Kinitek Productions, iWant)
  • “The Panti Sisters” (Black Sheep Productions, The IdeaFirst Company, Quantum Films)
  • “Unforgettable” (Viva Films and The IdeaFirst Company)
  • “Write about Love” (TBA Studios)

Movie Director of the Year:

  • Crisanto Aquino (“Write about Love”)
  • Jade Castro (“LSS”)
  • Cathy Garcia-Molina (“Hello, Love, Goodbye”)
  • Pedring Lopez (“Maria”)
  • Erik Matti (‘Kuwaresma”)
  • Jun Robles Lana (“The Panti Sisters”)
  • Jun Robles Lana and Perci Intalan (“Unforgettable”)

Indie Movie of the Year:

  • “Babae at Baril” (Cignal Entertainment, Epicmedia, QCinema)
  • “Edward” (Cinemalaya Foundation, Awkward Penguin, Viva Films, Outpost Visual Frontier)
  • “Guerrero Dos, Tuloy ang Laban” (EBC Films)
  • “John Denver Trending” (Cinemalaya Foundation, What If Films Philippines, Southern Lantern Pictures, Tinker Bulb Productions, Outpost Visual Frontier)
  • “Kalel, 15” (The IdeaFirst Company, Octobertrain Films, Cignal Entertainment)
  • “Lola Igna” (ERJ Found Films and EMBA Productions)
  • “Metamorphosis” (Rebelde Films and Cinema One Originals)
  • “Mindanao” (Center Stage Productions)

Indie Movie Director of the Year:

  • Arden Rod Condez (“John Denver Trending”)
  • Carlo Ortega Cuevas (“Guerrero Dos, Tuloy ang Laban”)
  • Brillante Mendoza (“Mindanao”)
  • Thop Nazareno (“Edward”)
  • Rae Red (“Babae at Baril”)
  • Jun Robles Lana (“Kalel, 15”)
  • Eduardo Roy Jr. (“Lola Igna”)
  • J.E. Tiglao (“Metamorphosis”)

Movie Actor of the Year:

  • Louise Abuel (“Edward”)
  • Carlo Aquino (“Isa pa with Feelings”)
  • Gold Azeron (‘Metamorphosis”)
  • Raymond Bagatsing (“Quezon’s Game”)
  • Elijah Canlas (“Kalel, 15”)
  • Jansen Magpusao (“John Denver Trending”)
  • Aga Muhlach (“Miracle  in Cell No.7”)
  • Alden Richards (“Hello, Love, Goodbye”)
  • Julio Sabenorio (“Guerrero Dos, Tuloy ang Laban”)

Movie Actress of the Year:

  • Bea Alonzo (“Unbreakable”)
  • Kathryn Bernardo (‘Hello, Love, Goodbye”)
  • Angie Ferro (“Lola Igna”)
  • Sarah Geronimo (“Unforgettable”)
  • Janine Gutierrez (“Babae at Baril”)
  • Ruby Ruiz (“Iska”)
  • Sylvia Sanchez (“Jesusa”)
  • Judy Ann Santos (“Mindanao”)
  • Jodi Sta. Maria (“Clarita”)

Movie Supporting Actor of the Year:

  • John Arcilla (“Miracle in Cell No. 7”)
  • Joem Bascon (“Write about Love”)
  • Elijah Canlas (“Babae at Baril”)
  • Ricky Davao (“Fuccbois”)
  • Arturo De Guzman (“Guerrero Dos, Tuloy ang Laban”)
  • Ronnie Lazaro (“Maria”)
  • JC Santos (“Miracle in Cell No. 7”)
  • Joel Torre (“Miracle in Cell No. 7”)

Movie Supporting Actress of the Year:

  • Yayo Aguila (“Metamorphosis”)
  • Angel Aquino (“Kaputol”)
  • Ella Cruz (“Edward”)
  • Jaclyn Jose (“Kalel, 15”)
  • Maricel Laxa (“Hello, Love, Goodbye”)
  • Gina Pareño (“Unforgettable”)
  • Meryll Soriano (“John Denver Trending”)
  • Tuesday Vargas (“LSS”)

New Movie Actor of the Year:

  • Louise Abuel (“Edward”)
  • Royce Cabrera (Fuccbois”)
  • Kent Gonzales (“Kuwaresma”)
  • David Licauco (“Because I Love You”)
  • Jin Macapagal (“Damaso”)
  • Jansen Magpusao (“John Denver Trending”)
  • Paolo Marcoleta (“Guerrero Dos, Tuloy ang Laban”)
  • L.A. Santos (“Maria”)

New Movie Actress of the Year:

  • Michelle Dee (“Because I Love You”)
  • Laura Lehmann (‘Elise”)
  • Cindy Miranda (“Adan”)
  • Alyssa Muhlach (“Clarita”)
  • Riva Quenery (“Damaso”)
  • KZ Tandingan (“The Art of Ligaw”)
  • Gillian Vicencio (“Eerie”)
  • Xia Vigor (“Miracle in Cell No. 7”)

Movie Child Performer of the Year:

  • Miel Espinoza (“Elise”)
  • Grace Ann Betalmos (“Pailalim”)
  • Pryle Gura (“Iska”)
  • Elia Ilano (“Ulan”)
  • Jorden Suan (“Verdict”)
  • Yuna Tangog (“Mindanao”)
  • Xia Vigor (“Miracle in Cell No. 7”)

Movie Ensemble Acting of the Year:

  • “Hello, Love, Goodbye”
  • “Kuwaresma”
  • “Miracle in Cell No. 7”
  • “Quezon’s Game”
  • “The Panti Sisters”
  • “Unforgettable”
  • “Write about Love”

Indie Movie Ensemble Acting of the Year

  • “Babae at Baril”
  • “Circa”
  • “Edward”
  • “Iska”
  • “John Denver Trending”
  • “Lola Igna”
  • “Metamorphosis”
  • “Mindanao”

Short Movie of the Year:

  • “Forever” (Adlibs Entertainment Corp., Institute of the Moving Image, Bandido Media Productions)
  • “Hele ng Maharlika” (Newtown Pictures)
  • “Kalakalaro” (What If? Productions)
  • “Memories of the Rising Sun” (Pelikulaw and College of Saint Benilde)
  • “Panaghoy” (ABP Films and Memorya)
  • “Para kay James” (Oktopus Productions)
  • “Tembong” (UP Film Production and UP Cinema)
  • “Tokwifi” (Balay Habi Studio and QCinema)

Short Movie Director of the Year:

  • Shaira Advincula (“Tembong”)
  • Alvin Baloloy (“Panaghoy”)
  • Norvin Delos Santos (“Hele ng Maharlika”)
  • Steven Paul Evangelio (“Para kay James”)
  • Lawrence Fajardo (“Memories of the Rising Sun”)
  • Domingo Molina (“Forever”)
  • Carla Pulido Ocampo (“Tokwifi”)

Rodson Suarez (“Kalakalaro”)  /ra


‘Dito at Doon’ theatrical release postponed over safety concerns

Lea Salonga marks 43 years since first-ever public performance

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

Nikki Valdez looks back at early ‘Star Circle’ days as she marks 24 years in show biz

Follow @IBiongINQ on Twitter
TAGS: Awards, best actor awards, Philippine Movie Press Club, PMPC, PMPC Star Awards for Movies

© Copyright 1997-2024 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.