How Eddie Garcia ‘got’ his Urian best actor trophy right after awards rites | Inquirer Entertainment

How Eddie Garcia ‘got’ his Urian best actor trophy right after awards rites

By: - Reporter
/ 12:09 AM June 21, 2019
How Eddie Garcia ‘got’ his Urian best actor trophy right after awards rites

Eddie Garcia in “ML”

Filmmaker Benedict Mique Jr. drove to Makati Medical Center immediately after the 42nd Gawad Urian ceremony on Tuesday night to personally deliver to Eddie Garcia his best actor trophy, which the latter won for the indie drama, “ML.”

Garcia was confined at the hospital’s intensive care unit after figuring in an accident on June 8 while taping for a TV series. The 90-year-old actor was in a coma as a result of a neck fracture after he tripped on a cable wire on the set. He died yesterday.


This is Garcia’s third award from the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino, organizer of the Gawad Urian. The first best actor trophy was for “Death Row” in 2000. He also received the lifetime achievement award in 2006.

Mique turned emotional when he read onstage a message from Garcia’s family. It said in Filipino: “While Eddie has remained in a coma, just imagine him standing here in front of you, with a huge grin on his face, expressing his love for the industry that he’s been serving for 70 years.”


The statement also said: “We are also sure that Eddie will ask you to continue to support indie films, especially those that give honor and pride to us as Filipinos here and abroad.”

How Eddie Garcia ‘got’ his Urian best actor trophy right after awards rites

Victor Neri for “Buy Bust” —LEO M. SABANGAN II

“BuyBust” director Erik Matti was not around to accept the best picture trophy for his action-adventure film that features Anne Curtis and Brandon Vera.

Matti is currently in Bacolod City shooting for an episode of HBO’s “Foodlore.”

“It wasn’t an easy film to mount. It took us over a year to finish,” Matti said of “BuyBust” when he spoke to the Inquirer over the phone on Tuesday night. “Since there are only a few production outfits that make big movies these days, I’m happy that the Manunuri has recognized our efforts. What usually goes with a big movie are big stars and a big story—meaning, it’s an action piece and not an arthouse-material. For the Manunuri to acknowledge that it’s the best film of 2019 is a big deal.”

Matti also pointed out: “It means they’re recognizing not just content, but also the craft and artistry behind it—those are big things for the Urian.”

The film also bagged the production design trophy for Michael Español and Roma Regala, cinematography for Neil Bion, and best music for Malek Lopez and Erwin Romulo.

For best director winner Denise O’Hara (“Mamang”), hers was a “small movie” compared to those of her fellow nominees.


“It’s an honor to be included in this batch. I’m already happy just to be nominated. That’s why I didn’t prepare [a speech]. I’m grateful to those who showed support to our small movie,” she told the Inquirer.

O’Hara said the film, with Celeste Legaspi in the lead, was for her twin sister Janice, who died in 2016 before they finished the project.

“We had to pull this out of the Cinemalaya competition because she got sick and couldn’t finish it. When we resubmitted it, she was already in critical condition and made me promise to work on it. The shoot had been emotional for me,” Denise recalled. “This is also for our family, and for all those who are taking care of loved ones afflicted with dementia. Through the film, I want to tell that love endures, despite the illness,” she said.

Nadine Lustre, who was also a no-show at the ceremony at UP Cine Adarna in Quezon City, was declared best actress for her performance in Antoinette Jadaone’s “Never Not Love You.”

Joel Lamangan got the best supporting actor plum for Louie Ignacio’s “School Service.” When interviewed after the show, Lamangan said he was happy to have been recognized, this time, not as a director, but as an actor.

“I used to act in theater when I was younger,” he said. As to which part of filming “School Service” was the most memorable to him, Lamangan said, laughing: “It was the part when I undressed in front of the camera. Direk Louie didn’t have a hard time convincing me to bare skin. I have always wanted to be a bold star.”

How Eddie Garcia ‘got’ his Urian best actor trophy right after awards rites

Cherie Gil for “Citizen Jake” —LEO M. SABANGAN II

Cherie Gil bagged the best supporting actress award—her first-ever Urian trophy—for her performance in Mike de Leon’s “Citizen Jake.”

“I am honored. Mike and I first worked together in ‘Bilanggo Sa Dilim.’ He is an amazing director. Nothing beats having his name on your resume,” she said, beaming. “I hope this is not a sign that I’m supposed to retire from this industry. This is the only award I have been waiting to get.”

Rody Vera bagged the best screenplay trophy for Roño’s “Signal Rock;” while Jonathan Hee, Steff Dereja and Miguel Hernandez won for best sound, for Alcazaren’s “Never Tear Us Apart.”

May-i Guia Padilla took home the best editing award for Choy Pangilinan and Charlson Ong’s “Tanabata’s Wife.”

Shaira Advincula’s “Tembong” won the best short film award, while Jewel Maranan’s “Sa Palad ng Dantaong Kulang” was declared best documentary.

The hottest entertainment news straight to your inbox

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.
Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Eddie Garcia, Gawad Urian
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

Subscribe to our entertainment news

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and
acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

© Copyright 1997-2022 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.