‘BuyBust,’ ‘Signal Rock’ lead Gawad Urian 2019 nominations

By: - Reporter
/ 10:33 AM May 09, 2019

MANILA, Philippines — Erik Matti’s “BuyBust” and Chito Roño’s “Signal Rock” received the most nods in Gawad Urian 2019, Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino announced Wednesday.

“BuyBust” got 10 nominations, while “Signal Rock” got nine nominations. Both films are vying for the Best Picture award.


Meanwhile, Eddie Garcia and Anne Curtis earned two nominations each under the categories of Best Actor and Best Actress, respectively.

Garcia received nods for his roles in “ML” and “Hintayan Ng Langit,” while Curtis received nods for her roles in “BuyBust” and “Sid and Aya.”


The Gawad Urian 2019 happens at the University of the Philippines Film Institute (UPFI) Film Center on June 18, 2019.

According to the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino, nominees for Best Short Film and Best Documentary will be announced soon.    /muf

Meanwhile, here are the nominees for the Gawad Urian 2019:

Best Picture

“A Short History of a Few Bad Things,” Gale Osorio

“Ang Panahon ng Halimaw,” Bianca Balbuena et.al.

“BuyBust,” Vic del Rosario Jr. et.al.


“ML,” Roselle Lorenzo

“Signal Rock,” Chito Roño

Best Director

Whammy Alcazaren, “Never Tear Us Apart”

Keith Deligero, “A Short History of a Few Bad Things”

Lav Diaz, “Ang Panahon ng Halimaw”

Alec Figuracion, “The Eternity Between Seconds”

Denise O’Hara, “Mamang”

Carl Joseph Papa, “Paglisan”

Chito S. Roño, “Signal Rock”

Erik Matti, “BuyBust”

Benedict Mique, Jr., “ML”

Irene Emma Villamor, “Meet Me in St. Gallen”

Best Actress

Ai-Ai delas Alas, “School Service”

Perla Bautista, “Kung Paano Hinihintay ang Dapithapon”

Anne Curtis, “BuyBust”

Anne Curtis, “Sid and Aya”

Glaiza de Castro, “Liway”

Maribeth Fanglayan, “Tanabata’s Wife”

Celeste Legaspi, “Mamang”

Nadine Lustre, “Never Not Love You”

Iyah Mina, “Mamu: And a Mother Too”

Bela Padilla, “Meet Me in St. Gallen”

Pokwang (Marietta Subong), “Oda sa Wala”

Best Actor

Carlo Aquino, “Meet Me in St. Gallen”

Christian Bables, “Signal Rock”

Dingdong Dantes, “Sid and Aya”

Ketchup Eusebio, “Mamang”

Eddie Garcia, “Hintayan ng Langit”

Eddie Garcia, “ML”

Miyuki Kamimura, “Tanabata’s Wife”

Tony Labrusca, “ML”

Victor Neri, “A Short History of a Few Bad Things”

Dante Rivero, “Kung Paano Hinihintay ang Dapithapon”

Best Supporting Actress

Pinky Amador, “Ang Panahon ng Halimaw”

Bituin Escalante, “Ang Panahon ng Halimaw”

Cherie Gil, “Citizen Jake”

Daria Ramirez, “Signal Rock”

Nova Villa, “Miss Granny”

Best Supporting Actor

Arjo Atayde, “BuyBust”

Nonie Buencamino, “Citizen Jake”

Teroy Guzman, “Citizen Jake”

Joel Lamangan, “School Service”

Victor Neri, “BuyBust”

Romnick Sarmenta, “Kung Paano Hinihintay ang Dapithapon”

Lou Veloso, “Citizen Jake”

Best Screenplay

Dwein Baltazar, “Gusto Kita With All My Hypothalamus”

Lav Diaz, “Ang Panahon ng Halimaw”

Alec Figuracion, “The Eternity Between Seconds”

Paul Grant, “A Short History of a Few Bad Things”

Erik Matti & Anton Santamaria, “BuyBust”

Benedict Mique, Jr., “ML”

Rody Vera, “Signal Rock”

Irene Emma Villamor, “Meet Me in St. Gallen”

Best Production Design

Popo Diaz, “Ang Panahon ng Halimaw”

Michael Espanol & Roma Regala, “BuyBust”

Roy Lachica, “Goyo”

Martin Masadao, “Mamang”

Mark Sabas, “Signal Rock”

Aped Santos, “Liway”

Thesa Tang, “Never Tear Us Apart”

Best Cinematography

Neil Bion, “BuyBust”

Neil Daza, “Signal Rock”

Nap Jamir, “Tanabata’s Wife”

Larry Manda, “Ang Panahon ng Halimaw”

Pao Orendain, “Meet Me in St. Gallen”

Sasha Palomares, “Never Tear Us Apart”

Rommel Sales, “The Eternity Between Seconds”

Best Editing

Gerone Centeno & Tom Estrera, “Citizen Jake”

Keith Deligero & Maria Estela Paiso, “A Short History of a Few Bad Things”

Alec Figuracion, “The Eternity Between Seconds”

Jay Halili, “BuyBust”

Carlo Francisco Manatad, “Meet Me in St. Gallen”

Carlo Francisco Manatad, “Sid and Aya”

Carlo Francisco Manatad, “Signal Rock”

May-i Guia Padilla, “Tanabata’s Wife”

Mikael Angelo Pestano, “ML”

Best Music

Jake Abella, “Aria”

Pearlsha Abubakar, “ML”

Jamaar Ajero et al, “A Short History of a Few Bad Things”

Kurt Alalag, May-i Guia Padilla & Mark Tan, “Tanabata’s Wife”

Teresa Barrozo, “Mamang”

Teresa Barrozo, “Paglisan”

Malek Lopez & Erwin Romulo, “BuyBust”

Malek Lopez & Erwin Romulo, “Never Tear Us Apart”

Best Sound

Aian Caro, Lamberto Casas, Jr. & Albert Michael Idioma, “ML”

Jason Conanan, Daryl Libongco & Mikko Quizon, “Meet Me in St. Gallen”

Whannie Dellosa & Steven Vesagas, “BuyBust”

Albert Michael Idioma, “Signal Rock”

Malek Lopez & Erwin Romulo, “Never Tear Us Apart”

Rico Mambo & Angeli Sarmiento, “A Short History of a Few Bad Things”

Read Next
Follow @KAguilarINQ on Twitter
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: BuyBust, Entertainment, Gawad Urian 2019, Philippines, Signal Rock
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2020 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.