WATCH: Bruce Springsteen drops new video for ‘Hello Sunshine’

/ 05:12 PM April 28, 2019
Springsteen new album this June

Bruce Springsteen performs during the closing ceremony of the Invictus Games 2017 at Air Canada Centre on September 30, 2017 in Toronto, Canada. Image: AFP/Geoff Robins

“Hello Sunshine” appears on Springsteen’s upcoming new album “Western Stars”, due out on June 14.

Fresh off his 236-show Broadway run, Springsteen released his latest single on Thursday, with an accompanying video.


“Hello Sunshine” is reminiscent of Southern Californian pop music of the 1970s, recalling Harry Nilsson’s 1969 hit “Everybody’s Talking”.

“You know I always liked that empty road/ No place to be and miles to go/ But miles to go is miles away/ Hello sunshine, won’t you stay …. You can get a little too fond of the blues,” croons Springsteen over a soft bassline accompanied by acoustic guitars.


The Boss doesn’t appear in the visual for “Hello Sunshine”, which only features a car with a New Jersey license plate driving on an isolated road.

The accompanying video announces the Western theme of Springsteen’s upcoming nineteenth studio album–whose artwork depicts a wild horse in the desert.

As per official release, “Western Stars” explores a “sweeping range of American themes, of highways and desert spaces, of isolation and community and the permanence of home and hope.” It features guest appearances from Jon Brion, Patti Scialfa, David Sancious, Charlie Giordano and more.

Co-produced by Springsteen and Ron Aniello, “Western Stars” marks the singer’s first studio album since 2014’s “High Hopes”.

“This record is a return to my solo recordings featuring character-driven songs and sweeping, cinematic orchestral arrangements. It’s a jewel box of a record,” said Springsteen in an official statement.

“Western Stars” will be released on June 14 via Columbia. See the full tracklist below:

01. Hitch Hikin’
02. The Wayfarer
03. Tucson Train
04. Western Stars
05. Sleepy Joe’s Café
06. Drive Fast (The Stuntman)
07. Chasin’ Wild Horses
08. Sundown
09. Somewhere North of Nashville
10. Stones
11. There Goes My Miracle
12. Hello Sunshine
13. Moonlight Motel


Bruce Springsteen announces new album coming in June

Soundtrack of Bruce Springsteen’s Broadway show is coming

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Bruce Springsteen, Harry Nilsson, new album, new single, The Boss
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2020 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.