Friday, September 21, 2018
  • share this

12 finalists of 1st Pista announced

By: - Reporter
/ 12:07 AM July 03, 2017
Ryza Cenon in “Ang Manananggal sa Unit 23B”

Ryza Cenon in “Ang Manananggal sa Unit 23B”

We have done the hardest part—curating the film. The rest is up to the audience,” said Film Development Council of the Philippines (FDCP) chair Liza Diño, who aon Friday announced the finalists of the first Pista ng Pelikulang Pilipino (PPP), from Aug. 16 to 22.

Diño said that to get people to go to theaters and watch the lineup was PPP’s biggest challenge. “We are not yet used to the idea that our cinemas are exclusively showcasing Filipino films in August, but with all our concerted efforts, I believe that Pista will be successful,” the FDCP chief told the Inquirer.


The following are the finalists of the weeklong event: “100 Tula Para Kay Stella” (Viva Communications Inc.), “Ang Manananggal sa Unit 23B” (The IdeaFirst Company), “Awol” (Skylight), “Bar Boys” (Tropic Frills Inc.), “Birdshot” (TBA Studios), “Hamog” (CPI/Cinema One), “Paglipay” (Tofarm), “Patay na si Hesus” (T-Rex Entertainment Production), “Pauwi Na” (Universal Harvest Inc.), “Salvage” (CPI/Cinema One), “Star na si Van Damme Stallone” (Unitel x Straight Shooters), and “Triptiko” (Michelna Brothers Production).

A total of 790 cinemas will participate in this weeklong event, said Diño.

“It would also be a big help if we could get the endorsements of CHEd (Commission on Higher Education) and DepEd (Department of Education) for this project. I am also currently securing the endorsement of President Duterte to institutionalize this,” she said. “The FDCP is but a small agency, and we are talking about a nationwide event here.”

The FDCP has also organized over 20 mall caravans and 12 campus tours.

The National Cinema Association of the Philippines (NCAP), meanwhile, has promised to manage all the cinemas participating in the PPP. “They’ll help us by playing the teasers of the finalists during this blockbuster season,” said the FDCP chief.

Diño heads the PPP selection committee, with members Manet Dayrit (editor), Oggs Cruz (film critic), Ricky Lee (screenwriter), Erik Matti (director), Jose Javier Reyes (director), Iza Calzado (actress) and Lee Briones (cinematographer).

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Film, Film Development Council of the Philippines (FDCP), Liza Diño, Pista ng Pelikulang Pilipino (PPP)
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

Truth and Power

September 21, 2018 03:36 PM


Santa Clara: Che’s city but also Cuba’s gay haven

September 21, 2018 03:35 PM


Singer Carrie Underwood gets star on Hollywood Walk of Fame

September 21, 2018 03:26 PM


Hit US podcast ‘Serial’ back for season 3

September 21, 2018 03:18 PM

© Copyright 1997-2018 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.