Because teachers take media arts seriously | Inquirer Entertainment

Because teachers take media arts seriously

And, it turns out, show biz loves educators
By: - Reporter
/ 12:56 AM February 27, 2015
ANGELICA Panganiban

ANGELICA Panganiban

“So this is what it feels like to receive an award from teachers!” quipped Angel Locsin in her acceptance speech as best actress (TV) at the 13th Gawad Tanglaw held recently at the Ernesto Palanca Crisostomo Hall of the University of Perpetual Help System-Dalta in Las Piñas City.

Clutching a trophy and a certificate, a medal hanging from her neck, Angel said it must be difficult for the academe-based group of media critics that comprise the Gawad Tanglaw board to mount such an event. “I thank the teachers who made time to watch and examine our shows,” added Angel, who won for her performance in “The Legal Wife.”


She shared the award with fellow ABS-CBN talent Julia Montes of “Ikaw Lamang,” hailed best TV series. “We all look up to teachers; for them to recognize my work is overwhelming,” Julia told the Inquirer.

Many of the winners likewise said being acknowledged by educators was an honor. “You have to give back the respect by loving your job even more,” said Piolo Pascual, best actor (TV) for “Hawak Kamay.” He told the Inquirer. “You should find roles that [audiences] will learn from and be inspired by.”


Piolo tied with Coco Martin (“Ikaw Lamang”) and Martin Escudero (“Positive”).

Coco, one of the event’s biggest draws, echoed Piolo’s sentiment. “An actor has a big responsibility to his viewers,” he told the Inquirer. “This is the fruit of my hard work, made special because it’s from teachers.”

Arnold Reyes, recipient of the Presidential Jury Award for Excellence (theater, TV, film), was “deeply touched” by his award because, he said, his late mother was a teacher, too.

Gawad Tanglaw founding chair Dr. Romeo Flaviano Lirio explained that, more than the technical aspects of a program or performance, the board—composed of humanities professors from member schools—put premium on values and progressive thought.



“A show or an actor should have a finger on the pulse of viewers, especially students,” he told the Inquirer. “While we teachers select winners, it’s important for us to know they impact the students.”

Four for Inquirer

Gawad Tanglaw annually recognizes “the best in the fields of film, television, radio and print,” noted Lirio.


The Inquirer won four of the awards for print this year, including best newspaper (national broadsheet). Dean Raul Pangalangan, publisher, received the trophy. Emmie G. Velarde was named best entertainment editor.

Ambeth Ocampo was declared best columnist for his PDI opinion column “Looking Back”; Cristy Fermin, best entertainment columnist (Filipino) for “Chika!” which comes out in Bandera.

Relaxed atmosphere

Because the list of winners is traditionally ahead of the awards rites, the celebrities always come to the GT Awards relaxed and upbeat, guaranteeing more time mingling with fellow awardees and fans.

At this latest gathering, arrivals of big stars were announced by screaming and cheering from the audience and spectators outside the hall—occasionally jolting those giving their speech onstage.



Superstar Nora Aunor turned up a few minutes before she received her best actress (film) trophy for “Dementia.”

“It’s great to see you all,” Nora said in her acceptance speech. “This award reminds me of my student days. It always feels special when teachers honor you.”

The veteran actress later told the Inquirer. “I have won many awards, but each new one surprises me still. That teachers critiqued our work gives me assurance… I trust their judgment.”

Angelica Panganiban of the indie romantic-comedy and surprise blockbuster hit “That Thing Called Tadhana” also won best actress (film).

Other winners

Some of the other winners in entertainment:

Director, Jason Paul Laxamana, for “Magkakabaung”; actor, Allen Dizon, “Magkakabaung”; supporting actor, Richard Gomez, “The Trial”; supporting actress, Gretchen Barretto, “The Trial”; Xyriel Manabat, child star, “Hawak Kamay”;

VETERAN actress Odette Khan, special awardee, salutes SAF 44.

VETERAN actress Odette Khan, special awardee, salutes SAF 44.

Comedy/gag show, “Pepito Manaloto” (GMA 7); morning programs, “Good Morning Kuya” (UNTV) and “Aksyon sa Umaga” (TV5); game show, “Who Wants to Be a Millionaire” (TV5); variety show: “It’s Showtime” (ABS-CBN); show biz talk show, “The Buzz” (ABS-CBN); magazine show, “Green Living” (ANC); reality/talent shows, “Talentadong Pinoy” (TV5) and “The Voice of the Philippines Season 2” (ABS-CBN); drama anthology, “Maalaala Mo Kaya” (ABS-CBN); TV series, “Forevermore” and “Ikaw Lamang” (both ABS-CBN).

Special Awards

Gawad Romeo Flaviano Lirio para sa Sining at Kultura, Odette Khan; Natatanging Gawad Tanglaw sa Sining at Pelikula, Chito Roño; Students’ choice for best film, “#Y”; special jury prize for best film, “Alienasyon” and “Kasal”; Bibong Bata ng Tanglaw, Bimby Aquino-Yap.

The hottest entertainment news straight to your inbox

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.
Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: “Hawak Kamay, Angel Locsin, Awards, Coco Martin, Cristy Fermin, Gawad Tanglaw, Julia Montes, Martin Escudero, Nora Aunor, Piolo Pascual, The Trial, University of Perpetual Help System-Dalta
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

Subscribe to our entertainment news

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and
acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

© Copyright 1997-2022 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.