Jericho Rosales, Nora Aunor, Brillante Mendoza lead 36th Gawad Urian Awards | Inquirer Entertainment

Jericho Rosales, Nora Aunor, Brillante Mendoza lead 36th Gawad Urian Awards

/ 04:26 AM June 19, 2013

Winners all at the 36th Gawad Urian Awards, from left, best supporting actor Art Acuna, best support supporting actress Alessandra de Rossi, best actress Nora Aunor, best director Adolfo Alix Jr. and best actor Jericho Rosales. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO/Adolf Alix Jr.

MANILA, Philippines—True to its tradition of awarding maverick indie productions, “Ang Paglalakbay ng mga Bituin sa Gabing Madilim” by Davao-based director-screenwriter Arnel Mardoquio was awarded “Best Film” in the 36th Gawad Urian Awards held Tuesday night at the NBC Tent in Taguig City.

Mardoquio though failed to bring home the best director trophy.


Much-awarded indie director Adolfo Alix Jr. was awarded best director for his work, “Mater Dolorosa.”

“This is for my Mom who always supported me and allowed me to nurture my love for cinema,” said Alix in his recent status on Facebook.


The awarding was hosted by Richard Gomez, Xian Lim, Cherie Gil, Butch Francisco and Iza Calzado.

The best actor went to Jericho Rosales for his work in “Alagwa,” a film by writer-director Ian Lorenons on human trafficking.

Nora Aunor, as expected, won the best actress trophy for Brillante Mendoza’s “Thy Womb.” Mendoza on the other hand won best production design for the same film.

Best Documentary award, to the delight of many, went to the enigmatic “Harana” by Benito Bautista. “Harana” tackles the nearly lost Filipino tradition of serenading ones’ love at night.

Gawad Urian is given by the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino (MPP), a group of film critics and academicians.

Its active members for the past couple of years are Rolando B. Tolentino, Grace Javier Alfonso, Butch Francisco, Mario A. Hernando, Bienvenido Lumbera, Miguel Q. Rapatan, Benilda S. Santos, Dr. Nicanor G. Tiongson, Tito Genova Valiente and Lito B. Zulueta.

The complete list of this year’s winners:


Natatanging Gawad Urian: Mila del Sol

Best Actress: Nora Aunor for “Thy Womb”

Best Supporting Actress: Alessandra de Rossi for “Sta Nina”

Best Actor: Jericho Rosales for “Alagwa”

Best Supporting Actor: Art Acuna for “Posas”

Best Documentary:  “Harana” by Benito Bautista

Best Short Film: “Ritmo” by Remton Siega Zuasola

Best Sound: Willy Fernandez, Bong Sungcang, Ferdinand Marcos Sabarongis for Lav Diaz’s “Florentina Hubaldo”

Best Music: Diwa de Leon, “Baybayin”

Best Editing: Aleks Castaneda, “Kalayaan”

Best Production Design: Brillante Mendoza, “Thy Womb”

Best Cinematograpphy: Whammy Alcazaren for “Colossal”

Best Screenplay: Mes de Guzman for “Diablo”

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: 36th Gawad Urian Awards, Adolfo Alix Jr., Alessandra De Rossi, Art Acuña, Gawad Urian Awards, Jericho Rosales, Nora Aunor, Urian Awards
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2021 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.