Top comics, impressionists star in ‘docucomedy’ for a cause | Inquirer Entertainment
Close  

Top comics, impressionists star in ‘docucomedy’ for a cause

/ 12:14 AM November 27, 2021

Tuesday Vargas/FACEBOOK PHOTO

MANILA, Philippines — The country’s top comedy artists and impressionists have lent their talent and star power to help raise funds for the education of scholars under ABS-CBN Foundation International.

The Philippines’ greatest impressionist, Willie Nepomuceno, headlines a roster of powerhouse comedians, which includes Kaladkaren Davila, Tuesday Vargas, Renee “Ate Glow” Hampshire, and reigning Noble Queen International Giselle Sanchez in “Happy Birthday, Ned! (Sino S’ya?!?) A Docucomedy Special.” The virtual show will be streamed in the Philippines and other territories via KTX.ph on Nov. 27 and 28.

ADVERTISEMENT

The online spectacle of laughter was organized to mark the 50th birthday of Ned Legaspi, global services creatives head of ABS-CBN Global, and seasoned thespian whose remarkable impression of “superstar” Nora Aunor and portrayal of other fictional characters rendered spectators in stitches in multiple editions of the annual “Live AIDS (Ang Istoryang Dinebelop ng Samaskom),” the longest-running musical-comedy-variety show in the country mounted by the University of the Philippines Samahan ng mga Mag-aaral sa Komunikasyon (UP Samaskom) where he belongs.

Kaladkaren Davila/CONTRIBUTED

Davila, Vargas, Hampshire, and Sanchez are Legaspi’s fellow UP Samaskom alumni, who have also given remarkable performances on the “Live AIDS” stage.

FEATURED STORIES

“Turning 50 is a milestone but unlike in previous years, I am doing a different kind of pa-bertday handa. I am going back to my roots, which is comedy, and it is going to be for a good cause. I’ll be joined by my favorite comedians and impersonators in giving Filipinos some relief and entertainment in this difficult time,” Legaspi shared.

His Live AIDS portfolio spans different capacities. Aside from acting onstage, he had also written sketches and monologues, and directed three editions, including “Live AIDS SILVER,” the show’s 25th installment which was also one of the official events for UP’s centenary in 2008.

Giselle Sanchez/ARMIN P. ADINA

Happy Birthday, Ned! (Sino S’ya ?!?”) A Docucomedy Special” essays Legaspi’s journey as a Martial Law baby. The hybrid presentation features his filmed performances in “Live AIDS” with documentary elements.

It will stream on KTX.ph on Nov. 27, at 11 a.m. (Manila), 6 a.m. (Saudi), 7 a.m. (Dubai), 12 p.m. (Japan), 2 p.m. (Sydney), and 4 p.m. (New Zealand); and on Nov. 28, at 5 p.m. (Hawaii), 7 p.m. (Pacific), 8 p.m. (Mountain), 9 p.m. (Central), and 10 p.m. (Eastern).

All proceeds from the virtual show will go to ABS-CBN Foundation International.

EDV

The hottest entertainment news straight to your inbox

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.
Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: ABS-CBN Foundation International, docucomedy, Ned Legaspi
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

Subscribe to our entertainment news

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and
acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.



© Copyright 1997-2022 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.