‘Paglisan,' 'Never Tear Us Apart' win big at Cinema One Originals 2018 | Inquirer Entertainment

‘Paglisan,’ ‘Never Tear Us Apart’ win big at Cinema One Originals 2018

By: - Reporter
/ 07:51 PM October 21, 2018
Cinema One Originals 2018

Cinema One Originals 2018

‘Paglisan’ and ‘Never Tear Us Apart’ bagged the most number of awards at the Cinema One Originals Festival Awards Night held at the Dolphy Theater in Quezon City on Sunday.

‘Paglisan,’ an animated musical drama by Carl Papa, was named Best Picture, Best Screenplay, Best Musical Score, Best Sound, and the special Champion Bughaw Award.


It tells the story of a married couple struggling to keep their relationship as one suffers from the early onset dementia. The wife’s own unhappiness also becomes an affliction in itself.

‘Never Tear Us Apart,’ a drama film by Whammy Alcazaren and shot with iPhones, brought home the most awards with Alcazaren also named as Best Director.


The film tied with “Paglisan” for Best Musical Score and swept the technical awards, winning Best Editing, Best Production Design, and Best Cinematography.

Alcazaren’s film, which also won the special Jury Prize, tells the story of a family under siege, revealing each one’s private persona and social media image.

The awarding ceremony was hosted by Xian Lim and Jodi Sta. Maria.

Here is the full list of winners:

Best Sound: Jess Carlos (Paglisan)
Best Musical Score: Teresa Barrozo (Paglisan), Erwin Romulo, Juan Miguel Sobrepeña, Malek Lopez (Never Tear Us Apart)
Best Editing: Ilsa Malsi (Never Tear Us Apart)
Best Production Design: Thesa Tang (Never Tear Us Apart)
Best Cinematography: Sasha Palomares (Never Tear Us Apart)
Best Screenplay: Carl Papa and Aica Ganhinhin (Paglisan)
Best Director: Whammy Alcazaren (Never Tear Us Apart)

Best Supporting Actress: Mary Joy Apostol (Hospicio)
Best Supporting Actor: Aaron Villaflor (Mamu; And A Mother Too)
Best Actress: Iyah Mina (Mamu; And A Mother Too)
Best Actor: Alwyn Uytingco (Asuang)

Special Citation: A Short History of a Few Bad Things by Keith Deligero
Best Picture: Paglisan by Carl Papa
Jury Prize: Never Tear us Apart by Whammy Alcazaren


Special Awards: Audience Choice: Mamu; and A Mother Too by Rod Singh

Champion Bughaw: Paglisan by Carl Papa
One-Minute Student Film Competition: Para Kay Tatay by Christlin Conanan from University of the Philippines Diliman


The hottest entertainment news straight to your inbox

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.
Read Next
Follow @KAguilarINQ on Twitter
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: "Paglisan", Cinema One Originals, entertainment news, Never Tear Us Apart, Philippines
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

Subscribe to our entertainment news

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and
acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

© Copyright 1997-2022 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.