Pista finalists announced | Inquirer Entertainment

Pista finalists announced

By: - Reporter
/ 12:30 AM July 12, 2018

From left: Adolf Alix Jr. and the cast of “Madilim ang Gabi,” Mikoy Morales, Elizabeth Oropesa and Jess Mendoza

Movies that are audience-friendly, well-crafted and share a personal voice made the cut in the second edition of the Pista ng Pelikulang Pilipino (PPP), according to selection committee member Carlitos Siguion-Reyna.

The eight entries that will be screened nationwide from Aug. 15 to 21 are: Jun Lana’s “Ang Babaeng Allergic sa Wi-Fi,” featuring Sue Ramirez, Markus Paterson and Jameson Blake; Jason Paul Laxamana’s “Bakwit Boys,” featuring Vance Larena, Nikko Natividad, Ryle Santiago and Mackie Empuerto; Adolf Alix Jr.’s “Madilim ang Gabi,” starring Gina Alajar, Phillip Salvador and Felix Roco; Jay Abello’s “Pinay Beauty,” led by Chai Fonacier and Edgar Allan Guzman.


Chito Roño’s “Signal Rock,” starring Christian Bables, Francis Magundayao, Mon Confiado and Elora Espano; Jason Paul Laxamana’s “The Day After Valentine’s,” led by Bela Padilla and JC Santos; Miko Livelo’s “Unli Life,” starring Vhong Marquez, Ejay Falcon and Winwyn Marquez; and Richard Somes’ “We Will Not Die Tonight,” starring Erich Gonzales and Alex Medina.

Only eight films are showcased this year, compared to 12 in 2017.


“This is the maximum number of new films introduced to the market in a week,” explained chair Liza Diño-Seguerra of the Film Development Council of the Philippines, organizer of the two-year-old indie fete. “Cinema operators informed us that 12 entries were too many. Those that were ranked from nine to 12 were left behind. Also, a week is not enough for the moviegoing public to watch all 12 entries.”

“Change is inevitable. We should accept it because it’s always for the better,” said director Jose Javier Reyes, chair of the selection committee, when asked about the revision.

From left: JC Santos, Jason Paul Laxamana and Bela Padilla of “The Day After Valentine’s”

At the media launch on Monday, Reyes also said he was privileged to have chosen the eight entries from 21 submissions. “Working with young people is better than Botox! I surround myself with young blood and try to impart to them the lessons I’ve learned,” he shared with reporters.

The PPP selection committee also includes editor Manet Dayrit, director Sheron Dayoc, cinematographer Lee Briones and actress Cherie Gil.

The short film entries under the Sine Kabataan Short Film Competition that will be featured alongside the main entries are the following: Enalyn Legaspi’s “Alas-Nuebe ng Tanghali,” Christian Babista’s “Anonymous Student Vlog,” Bryan Spencer Reyes’ “Bahay-Bahayan,” Ardinian Jaq Sanque and Lorys Plaza’s “Bato Bato Pik,” Rodemile Singh’s “Isang Tula Para sa Nawawala,” Len Frago’s “Koleksyong Pamalo,” Daniel Edwin Delgado and Tiara Angelia Nicolas’ “Masaya Ako” and Levi Jun Miscala’s “Runner.”

PPP also includes a Special Feature Section, which will screen Tara Illenberger’s “High Tide,” Giancarlo Abrahan’s “Paki” and Arnel Barbarona’s “Tu Pug Imatuy” in selected cinemas.

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: ‘Pista ng Pelikulang Pilipino’, Filipino films, Movies
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2022 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.