Comedy rules in 59th Famas awards | Inquirer Entertainment

Comedy rules in 59th Famas awards

By: - Reporter
/ 10:06 PM December 15, 2011

ALBERT Martinez, best director

The Wenn Deramas comedy, “Ang Tanging Ina Mo,” and its lead actress, Ai Ai de las Alas, were named best picture and best actress at the Famas (Film Academy of Movie Arts and Sciences) awards held on Friday night at the Tanghalang Leandro Locsin of the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA) in Intramuros.

The 59th Gabi ng Parangal also gave the best actor honor to John Lloyd Cruz for his performance in the Cathy Garcia-Molina romantic-comedy, “Miss You Like Crazy.” Albert Martinez was named best director for his epic drama, “Rosario,” starring Jennylyn Mercado.


Eugene Domingo bagged the best supporting actress trophy for her performance in the Chris Martinez comedy, “Here Comes the Bride”; Allen Dizon was best supporting actor for his work on Joel Lamangan’s “Sigwa.”

AI AI de las Alas, best actress

Xyriel Manabat was declared best child actress for “Ang Tanging Ina Mo”; Maliksi Morales, best child actor, for his work on the Dondon Santos horror flick, “Dalaw.”


Bonifacio Ilagan won the best story award for “Sigwa” and Carlo Mendoza, best cinematography, for “Rosario.” Marya Ignacio received the best editing trophy for “Miss You Like Crazy.”

The fantasy adventure film, “Si Agimat at si Enteng Kabisote,” directed by Tony Y. Reyes, won the best sound award for Addiss Tabong and Albert Michael Idioma; best musical score for Jessie Lasaten; and best special effects Dekdek Torrente and Erick Torrente.

The team of Jay Santiago, Kim Erik Samson and Melvyn M. Quimosing won best visual effects, also for “Si Agimat at si Enteng Kabisote.”

Joey Luna bagged the best production design trophy for “Rosario.” The best theme song award was given to “Miss You Like Crazy.”

Superstar Nora Aunor received the Lifetime Achievement award while young actors Sarah Lahbati, Louise de los Reyes, Alden Richards, Kathryn Bernardo, Julia Montes and Sam Concepcion were each given the German Moreno Youth Achievement trophies.

Other distinctions

Other special awards handed out were the Dr. Jose Perez Jr. Memorial Award, to writer and art patron Danny L. Dolor; Arturo M. Padua Memorial Award, to veteran entertainment columnist Crispina M. Belen; Public Service Award, to lawyer Persida Acosta; Grand Award, to former head of the National Cinema Association of the Philippines Ric Camaligan; and Presidential Award, to Executive Secretary Paquito Ochoa.

Special citations were also given: the Filipino Inventors Radio Program award to “Kita Mo Na? Galing Ng Pinoy,” Advocacy Film for 2010 award to  “H.I.V.”, Loren Legarda Environment Award for Film to “Project: Noel” and Rodolfo Biazon Patriotism Award for Film to  “Emir.”

The hottest entertainment news straight to your inbox

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.
Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Ai-Ai de las Alas, Famas awards, Jennylyn Mercado, John Lloyd Cruz
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

Subscribe to our entertainment news

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and
acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

© Copyright 1997-2022 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.