IN PHOTOS: The 38th Gawad Urian awards night | Inquirer Entertainment

IN PHOTOS: The 38th Gawad Urian awards night

/ 12:41 AM June 18, 2015

The long take of “Mula sa Kung Ano ang Noon (From What Is Before)” stretched all the way to the 38th Gawad Urian as the five-and-a-half-hour film took the awards’ top honors on Tuesday night.

In the battle of independent movies of the highest caliber, the members of the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino awarded “Mula sa Kung Ano ang Noon” the best picture, opting for an exquisite, slow cinema masterpiece with a story that emphasized on the country’s traditional rituals, relationships and values.

READ: Lav Diaz’s Marcos-era film cops Urian best picture


Although in 2002, Gawad Urian was among the firsts, if not the only local award-giving body, that gave Diaz’s work a best picture trophy. Back then, it was his six-hour opus, “Batang West Side.”


“Mula sa Kung Ano ang Noon” also won the best director award for Diaz, as well as screenplay and editing.

The Gawad Urian for best actor went to Allen Dizon (“Magkakabaung”) and best actress for Eula Valdez (“Dagitab”).

Proving once again that her brightness would never wane, superstar Nora Aunor brought home this year’s Natatanging Gawad Urian, the night’s top award for a film artist.

Here are the photo’s from the events taken by Adrian Gonzales. TVJ

Director Kanakan Balintagos

Kanakan Balintagos

Sandino, Kanakan JC

Sandino Martin, Kanakan Balintagos, JC Santos

JC Santos

JC Santos


Sandino Martin

Shamaine, noni

Shamaine and Nonie Buencamino

Shamaine, Kanakan, Noni

Shamaine Buencamino, Kanakan Balintagos and Nonie Buencamino

Martin Del Rosario

Martin Del Rosario

Jolina Magdangal

Jolina Magdangal


Jed Madela

Junjun Quintana

Alex Medina and Junjun Quintana

Angeli Bayani (3)

Angeli Bayani

Paolo avelino

Paulo Avelino

Eula valdez

Eula Valdez

Martin, sandino

El gamma penumbra El Gamma Penumbra introduces the award categories in an opening number.

Grace Javier Alfonso

Grace Javier Alfonso, chair of the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino, talks about the 38th Gawad Urian.

Butch, Angelica, Robi

The night’s hosts Butch Francisco, Angelica Panganiban and Robi Domingo

Robi angelica

Robi Domingo and Angelica Panganiban


Robi Domingo

Butch (2)

Butch Francisco

Gladys reyes

Gladys Reyes is declared the Best Supporting Actress.

Gladys reyes (2)

Gladys Reyes receives her award.

Martin del rosario (2)

Martin Del Rosario accepts his best supporting actor award.

gwyneth, kyla, jed, darren

Gwyneth Dorado, Kyla, Jed Madela and Darren Espanto performs a tribute Nora Aunor.

Darren, Gwyneth

Gwyneth Dorado and Darren Espanto


Darren Espanto

Perci Intalan

Percival Intalan accepts an award for his film “Dementia.”

Hazel Orencio (2)

Hazel Orencio receives the best screenplay award for Lav Diaz’ “Mula sa Kung Ano ang Noon.”

Angeli, Paolo

Angeli Bayani and Paulo Avelino present the award for best actor and actress,

Eula valdez (2)

Eula Valdez delivers a a speech after winning best actress.

hazel, joel

Joel Saracho and Hazel Orencio receives the best picture award on behalf of director Lav Diaz.

Nora Aunor

Nora Aunor

Nora aunor (3)

Nora Aunor

Nora aunor (4)

Nora Aunor cops this year’s Natatanging Gawad Urian.

urian winners

The winners of the 38th Gawad Urian.

urian winners (2) winners urian

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

TAGS: Allen Dizon, Dagitab, Eula Valdez, Gawad Urian, Hazel Orencio, Lav Diaz, Magkakabaung, Mula sa Kung Ano ang Noon, Nora Aunor

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.