‘Himig Handog’ Sunday | Inquirer Entertainment

‘Himig Handog’ Sunday

By: - Reporter
/ 05:56 AM September 28, 2014
HAZEL Faith de la Cruz

HAZEL Faith de la Cruz

Two of the 15 finalists in the 2014 Himig Handog: P-Pop Love Songs songwriting competition are previous winners: Joven Tan won the 2013 edition; Jungee Marcelo, the 3rd PhilPop tilt just this July. But this doesn’t translate to undue advantage over younger rivals, they said.

“Everything is fair in songwriting,” Jungee pointed out. His entry this year, “Pumapag-ibig,” will be interpreted by Marion Aunor, Rizza Cabrera and Seed Bunye in the grand finals Sunday night at Smart Araneta Coliseum.




Joven, also a scriptwriter and movie director, joined Himig Handog again to prove that last year’s win was no fluke. His entry is “Pare, Mahal Mo Raw Ako,” to be sung by Michael Pangilinan.

One of the newer faces, Raizo Brent Chabeldin, said that being in the Top 15 was already an honor for him. “I’ve submitted entries in the past; this is the first time I’ve gotten into the finals,” said Raizo, who penned “Dito” with Biv de Vera. It will be performed by Jovit Baldivino.


Jessa Zaragoza, interperter of “Bumabalik ang Nagdaan,” by Sarah Jane Gandia, is feeling the heat because this is her first song festival. “I’m going up against great singers,” she said.



Himig Handog head Jonathan Manalo, a past champion of the tilt, said 6,000 entries were received this year.

According to Star Records’ Roxy Liquigan, the selection committee consisted of 15 members from Star Music and FM radio station MOR 101.9. Network executives Charo Santos-Concio, Malou Santos and Carlo Katigbak were involved in the latter stages of screening.

Other finalists



The other 15 entries: Francis Louis Salazar’s “Akin Ka Na Lang” (to be interpreted by Morrisette Amon); David Dimaguila’s “Halik sa Hangin” (Ebe Dancel and Abra); Jose Joel Mendoza, “Hanggang Kailan” (Angeline Quinto); Nica del Rosario’s “Hindi Wala” (Juris); Jude Gitamondoc’s “If You Don’t Want to Fall” (Jed Madela); Melchora Mabilog’s “Mahal Kita Pero” (Janella Salvador);

Edwin Marollano’s “Mahal Ko o Mahal Ako” (KZ Tandingan); Meljohn Magno’s “Simpleng Tulad Mo” (Daniel Padilla); Rolando Azor’s “Umiiyak ang Puso” (Bugoy Drilon), and Eric de Leon’s “Walang Basagan ng Trip” (Jugs Jugueta and Teddy Corpuz). Hazel Faith de la Cruz will sing her own “Everything Takes Time.”

The winning song will receive P1 million in cash; 2nd placer, P500,000; third, P300,000; 4th, P150,000; 5th, P100,000.

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: ‘himig handog’, Entertainment, Music, Songs, songwriting competition, Television
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2022 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.