Gawad Tanglaw awards for Inquirer

/ 12:02 AM March 17, 2014

GERALD Anderson, Best Actor in a Single TV Performance.

Awardees turn up for their Gawad Tanglaw citations, screenwriter Ricky Lee said, “because it’s a thoroughly happy occasion.”

Lee, winner this year for “Lauriana,” a dark coming-of-age drama, explained: “Everyone invited is a winner—no more nominees, no more competition; deliberations are finished weeks ahead.”


VILMA Santos, Best Actress for “Ekstra”

In their acceptance speeches, quite a few other winners cited the award-giving group, Gawad Tanglaw Foundation, a community of academicians. A common sentiment: “No one paid, or was paid, for this.” (A few days prior, results of the Star Awards for Movies, given by the Philippine Movie Press Club, were challenged with an accusation that voting members had been bribed, a charge that was swiftly denied.)

The sentiment echoed the point that foundation officials routinely make in interviews: that the awards are not supported by any form of sponsorship, because members/member colleges and universities utilize their own resources for all expenses incurred.



Graduation-like rites


On Wednesday at Colegio de San Juan de Letran Calamba, the 12th Gawad Tanglaw was held. The program started with rituals that recalled commencement exercises, underscoring the nature of the honors about to be given.

Gawad Tanglaw officials were led in a formal processional by president emeritus Dr. Jaime Gutierrez-Ang and founding chair Dr. Romeo Flaviano Lirio. Both took active parts in the

GUS ABELGAS, Best Investigative Program, “Scene of the Crime Operatives”

program proper.

The Inquirer Group won four trophies (winners likewise received medals and certificates of recognition): Best Opinion Columnist (Randy David, Philippine Daily Inquirer), Best Entertainment Feature Writer in English (Emmie G. Velarde, Philippine Daily Inquirer), Best Entertainment Columnist in Filipino (Cristy Fermin, Bandera); Inquirer Radio’s “Bantay OCW with Susan K” was elevated to the Hall of Fame as Best Public Service Program.


As usual, this year’s honor roll is a multimedia roster. A partial list:



Best Actor—Joel Torre for “On the Job” (Reality Entertainment/Star Cinema); Best Actress—Vilma Santos, “Ekstra” (Quantum Films/Star Cinema); Best Supporting Actor—Marlon Rivera, “Ekstra” and Joey Paras, “Babagwa” (Quantum); Best Supporting Actress—Bela Padilla, “10,000 Hours” (Philippine Film Studios/N2 Productions/Viva Films); Angel Aquino, “Ang Huling Cha-Cha ni Anita” (Sigrid Bernardo/Jalz Zarate Production);

JEORGE Ejercito picks up award for Abra, Best Original Theme Song

Best Director—Hannah Espia, “Transit” (TEN7P Production); Best Editing, Jess Navarro, “Lauriana” (BG Productions International); Best Original Theme Song—“Bahala Na” by Abra, from “Shoot to Kill: Boy Golden” (Scenema Concept/Viva Films); Best Production Design—Fritz Silorio and Joel M. V. Bilbao, “Shoot to Kill”; Best Cinematography—Nap Jamir, “Lauriana”; Best Story—Giancarlo Abrahan and Hannah Espia, “Transit”; Best Screenplay—Ricky Lee, “Lauriana”;

Students’ Choice Award for Best Film—“Purok 7,” directed Carlo Obispo (Rough Road Productions); Special Jury Prize for Best Film—“Lauriana” and “Quick Change,” directed by Eduardo Roy (Found Films).




TV Station of the Year—ABS-CBN; Best TV Series—“Huwag Ka Lang Mawawala” (ABS-CBN); Best Performance by an Actor in a TV Series—Coco Martin, “Juan de la Cruz” (ABS-CBN); Best Performance by an Actress in a TV Series—Judy Ann Santos, “Huwag Ka Lang Mawawala” (ABS-CBN);

Best Ensemble Performance in a TV Series—“My Husband’s Lover” (GMA 7); Best Drama Anthology—“Magpakailanman” (GMA 7); Best Single Performance by an Actor—Gerald

BELA Padilla, Best Supporting Actress for “10,000 Hours”

Anderson, “Bituin” (“Maalaala Mo Kaya,” ABS-CBN); Best Single Performance by an Actress—Jean Garcia, “Hinagpis ng Isang Ina” (“Magpakailanman,” GMA 7);

Best Public Service Program—“Wish Ko Lang” (GMA 7); Best Documentary Program—“I-Witness” (GMA 7); Best Investigative Program—“Scene of the Crime Operatives” (ABS-CBN); Best Educational Program—“Wansapanataym” (ABS-CBN); Best Comedy/Gag Show—“Tropa Mo ’Ko Unli” (TV5); Best Morning Program—“Good Morning Club” (TV5); Best Game Show—“Minute to Win It” (ABS-CBN); Best Variety Show—“ASAP” (ABS-CBN); Best Showbiz Talk Show—“Showbiz Police” (TV5); Best Magazine Show—“Kapuso Mo, Jessica Soho” (GMA 7).

Special awards


ABS-CBN’s “Rated K” was elevated to the TV Hall of Fame for Best Magazine Show. The drama series “Honesto,” also from ABS-CBN, was given the Natatanging Gawad sa TV (Edukasyon). Writer Lualhati Bautista received the Natatanging Gawad sa Sining ng Panulat.

Filmmaker Brillante Ma. Mendoza was given the Gantimpalang Jaime G. Ang Presidential Jury Award for Film; Robert Arevalo and Barbara Perez, the Gawad Romeo Flaviano L. Lirio Para sa Sining at Kultura; Gloria Sevilla, the Natatanging Gawad Tanglaw sa Sining at Pelikula.  Emmie G. Velarde

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: 12th Gawad Tanglaw, Awards, Entertainment, Inquirer, Media, Movies, PDI, Television
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2020 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.