Saturday, April 21, 2018
  • share this

Casting coups, rarities and other landmarks at 3rd Indie Bravo Tribute

/ 08:28 PM December 16, 2012

Seeing the famous faces gathered at the Inquirer main office for the 3rd Indie Bravo Tribute last week, Vincent Nebrida, Unitel creative consultant and Cine Filipino Film Festival director, couldn’t contain his astonishment.

“Anytime you’re in the same room as Eddie Garcia and Nora Aunor—quite possibly the all-time best actor and actress of Philippine cinema—is a time to consider yourself lucky and privileged,” said Nebrida. “This rare moment is made even more magical by the presence of the other great actors and talented filmmakers here.”


Cream of the crop (from left): Cherry Pie Picache, Nora Aunor, Rustica Carpio, Gina Pareño, Shamaine Centenera-Buencamino and Jaclyn Jose

Let alone the country’s best, the elite circle likewise consists of some of the world’s best film talents. All of them have won awards in various film festivals abroad.

When the time came to take the traditional “class picture” of the annual honorees, most everyone in the room looking at the actors onstage agreed: It was a casting coup!

Casually, Aunor and her fellow honorees—Gina Pareño, Rustica Carpio, Jaclyn Jose, Shamaine Centenera-Buencamino and Cherry Pie Picache—talked about possibly collaborating on a

Director Ron Morales with “Graceland” actors Leon Miguel and Arnold Reyes

project (that would be a dream movie).

Two others couldn’t make it that night—Anita Linda was in the United States and Eugene Domingo had gotten sick. Garcia was a special honoree, along with Fides Cuyugan-Asensio.

Indie actor Leon Miguel, one of the lead stars in honoree Ron Morales’ “Graceland,” said he felt the “genuine respect and admiration” accorded to the veteran actors. Indie producer Lilit Reyes agreed: “It was inspiring to see local cinema icons supporting the indies in spite of the limited budget. It rekindles our passion to continue expressing ideas through movies.”

Past honorees Raymond Red, Rico Maria Ilarde, Ato Bautista, Alemberg Ang and Sheron Dayoc turned up to cheer on the new inductees to the Indie Bravo honor roll—Benito Bautista, Ron Morales, Jet Leyco, Vincent Sandoval, Will Fredo and Jun Robles Lana—who were honored along with past winners Brillante Ma. Mendoza, Auraeus Solito, Adolfo Alix Jr. and Chris Martinez.

GROUP HUG Shamaine Centenera-Buencamino, Madeleine Nicolas, Alya Honasan and Ronnie Lazaro

As in previous years, news crews from ABS-CBN, TV5, GMA 7 and GMA News Live, covered the event-along with PDI’s Radyo Inquirer and


Photos from the ceremony were posted—in real time—on Inquirer Entertainment’s Twitter account.

Best of all, several guests flooded Facebook with their own snapshots of the event.


Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: 3rd Indie Bravo Tribute, Celebrities, Entertainment
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2018 | All Rights Reserved