Monday, October 22, 2018
  • share this

10 indies vie for Best Picture Award in 35th Gawad Urian

By: - Reporter
/ 09:38 PM April 29, 2012

CINEMA One channel head Ronald Arguelles, second from left, with Manunuri president Dr. Grace Javier-Alfonso, center, and Manunuri members (from right) Dr. Nicanor Tiongson, Dr. Bien Lumbera and Tito Valiente. PHOTO BY ALLAN SANCON

Ten independently produced films are competing for the 35th Gawad Urian’s Best Picture Award. The event is hosted annually by the film critics group Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino, and produced by cable channel Cinema One.

Vying for the coveted prize, which will be given on award night on June 14 at the Cultural Center of the Philippines’ Tanghalang Nicanor Abelardo are:


— “The Natural Phenomenon of Madness”—A man and a woman pick up the pieces of their broken lives after a rape incident. Directed by Chaliebebs Gohetia.

— “Ang Babae sa Septic Tank”—A comedy about the struggles of three wannabe filmmakers. Directed by Marlon Rivera.


— “Busong”—The film explores the Palaweños’ concept of fate and karma. Directed by Auraeus Solito.

— “Amok”—An action-drama that tackles interconnected destinies. Directed by Lawrence Fajardo.

— “Bisperas”—A burglary  takes place on Christmas Eve. Directed by Jeffrey Jeturian.

— “Ka Oryang”—The film examines female political detainees during the martial law years. Directed by Sari Lluch Dalena.

— “Niño”—A once-illustrious family has to deal with hard times. Directed by Loy Arcenas.

— “Ang Sayaw ng Dalawang Kaliwang Paa”—A boy is in love with his literature teacher. Directed by Alvin Yapan and Alemberg Ang.

— “Boundary”—True stories of cab drivers in Manila. Directed by Benito Bautista.


— “Six Degrees of Separation from Lilia Cuntapay”—This mockumentary follows an old bit player nominated for an acting award for the first time in her 30-year career. Directed by Antoinette Jadaone.

Best director

Best director nominees are Dalena, Fajardo, Arcenas, Rivera, Yapan, Jeturian, Jadaone, Solito and Bautista.

Best actor

— Bong Cabrera, “Sa Ilalim ng Tulay.”

— Tirso Cruz III, “Bisperas.”

— Paulo Avelino, “Dalawang Kaliwang Paa.”

— Alfred Vargas, “Teoriya.”

— Ronnie Lazaro, “Boundary.”

— Raymond Bagatsing, “Boundary.”

— TJ Trinidad, “Deadline.”

— Martin Escudero, “Zombadings: Patayin sa Shokot si Remington.”

— JM de Guzman, Kean Cipriano, “Septic Tank.”

— Jess Mendoza, “Phenomenon of Madness.”

Best actress

— Lilia Cuntapay, “Six Degrees.”

— Raquel Villavicencio, “Bisperas.”

— Eugene Domingo, “Septic Tank.”

— Maja Salvador, “Thelma.”

— Opaline Santos, “Phenomenon of Madness.”

— Ma. Isabel Lopez, “Cuchera.”

— Alessandra de Rossi, “Ka Oryang.”

— Fides Cuyugan, “Niño.”

— Cherry Pie Picache, “Isda.”

— Diana Zubiri, “Bahay Bata.”

Best supporting actor

— Bembol Rocco, “Isda.”

— Jojit Lorenzo, “Anatomiya ng Korupsyon.”

— Marvin Agustin, “Patikul.”

— Mark Gil, “Amok.”

— John Regala, “Manila Kingpin.”

— Dido de la Paz, “Amok.”

— Art Acuña, “Niño.”

— Joem Bascom, “Ka Oryang.”

— Jake Cuenca, “In the Name of Love.”

— Garry Lim, “Amok.”

— Ronnie Lazaro, “Manila Kingpin.”

Best supporting actress

— Angeli Bayani, “Ka Oryang.”

— Julia Clarete, “Bisperas.”

— Jean Garcia, “Dalawang Kaliwang Paa.”

— Shamaine Buencamino, “Niño.”

— Solenn Huessaff, “Yesterday, Today, Tomorrow.”

Best production design

Maulen Fadul, “Phenomenon of Madness”; Rodrigo Ricio, “Bisperas”; Regiben Romana, “Sakay sa Hangin”; Reji Regalado, “Septic Tank”; Lawrence Fajardo, “Amok”; Laida Lim, “Nino”; Fritz Silorio, “Manila Kingpin”; Rodrigo Ricio, “Six Degrees.”

Best cinematography

Neil Daza and Kiri Dalena, “Ka Oryang”; Albert Banzon, “Liberacion”; Arvin Viola, “Dalawang Kaliwang Paa”; Roberto Yniquez, “Bisperas”; Louie Quirino, “Amok”; Regiben Romana, “Sakay sa Hangin”; Carlo Mendoza, “Manila Kingpin”; Louie Quirino, “Busong.”

Best music

Jerrold Tarog, “Niño”; Von de Guzman, “Amok”; Waway Linsahay Saway, “Sakay sa Hangin”; Teresa Barrozo, “Ka Oryang”; Diwa de Leon, “Busong”; Christine Muyco, Jema Pamintuan, “Dalawang Kaliwang Paa.”

Best editing

Keith Sicat, “Ka Oryang”; Danny Añonuevo, “Niño”; Ike Veneracion, “Septic Tank”; Mai Dionisio, “Dalawang Kaliwang Paa”; Lawrence Fajardo, “Amok”; Chuck Gutierrez, “Busong”; Leo Valencia, Glenn Ituriaga, “Six Degrees.”

Best screenplay

Antoinette Jadaone, “Six Degrees”; Charliebebs Gohetia, “Phenomenon of Madness”; John Bedia, “Amok”; Bonifacio P. Ilagan, “Deadline”; Paul Sta. Ana, “Bisperas”; Rody Vera, “Niño”; Sari Lluch Dalena, Keith Sicat, “Ka Oryang”; Alvin Yapan, “Dalawang Kaliwang Paa”; Chris Martinez, “Septic Tank.”

Best sound

Albert Michael Idioma, Addiss Tabong, “Amok” and “Septic Tank”; Idioma, “Manila Kingpin;” Idioma, Alex Tomboc, “Bisperas”; Raffy Magsaysay, “Boundary”; Junel Valencia, Aguila, Mark Locsin, “Liberacion.”

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Awards and Prizes, cinema, Entertainment, Film, Gawad Urian, indies
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

Sandiganbayan checkmates Pichay over chess gambit

October 23, 2018 05:33 AM


News Briefs: Oct. 23, 2018

October 23, 2018 05:32 AM


Palace, admin allies denounce IPU ‘meddling’

October 23, 2018 05:30 AM


Still top draw

October 23, 2018


Almazan shows up

October 23, 2018


Mayors on narc list seek reelection

October 23, 2018

© Copyright 1997-2018 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.