41st Gawad Urian nominees announced | Inquirer Entertainment

41st Gawad Urian nominees announced

By: - Entertainment Correspondent
/ 02:13 PM May 22, 2018
Members of the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino. (from left) Nicanor Tiongson, Roland Tolentino, Grace Alfonso and Gary Devilles. Image:INQUIRER.net/Clarizel Abanilla

Members of the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino. (from left) Nicanor Tiongson, Roland Tolentino, Grace Alfonso and Gary Devilles. Image:INQUIRER.net/Clarizel Abanilla

If there is something Gawad Urian is consistently known for, it is its integrity in critiquing Filipino films that shape up Philippine society and culture.

With over four decades of scholarly assessment of films and their cinematic elements to deliver a socially relevant message, Urian guarantees last year’s commendable movies get the utmost recognition they deserve.


On May 22, the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino officially announced the nominees in the prestigious 41st Gawad Urian Awards.

The awards night will be held on June 14 at the ABS-CBN tent at Vertis North in Quezon City. ABS-CBN’s local films cable channel Cinema One will be broadcasting the event live.


Best Film

Balangiga: Howling Wilderness, Archinette Villamor, Edong Canlas, Khavn dela Cruz, producers

Birdshot, Pamela L. Reyes, producer

Bhoy Intsik, Ferdinand Lapuz, producer

The Chanters, Cai Cena, Ferdinand Lapuz, Thop Nazareno, producers

Respeto, Monster Jimenez, producer

Tu Pug Imatuy, Norhaiya Diabo, Macusang, Arnel Mardoquio, Milo Tolentino, Ethel Mendez, Arnel Barbarona, Jillian Kayle Barbarona, producers


Best Director

Arnel Barbarona, Tu Pug Imatuy

Sigrid Andrea P. Bernardo, Kita Kita

Khavn De La Cruz, Balangiga: Howling Wilderness

Joel Lamangan, Bhoy Intsik

James Robin M. Mayo, The Chanters

Treb Monteras III, Respeto

Mikhail Red, Birdshot

Best Actress


Joanna Ampil, Ang Larawan

Angeli Bayani, Bagahe

Alessandra de Rossi, Kita Kita

Gloria Diaz, Si Chedeng at Si Apple

Dexter Doria, Paki

Jally Nae Gilbaliga, The Chanters

Agot Isidro, Changing Partners

Elizabeth Oropesa, Si Chedeng at Si Apple

Bela Padilla, 100 Tula Para Kay Stella

Angellie Nicolle Sanoy, Bomba

Malona Sulatan, Tu Pug Imatuy

Best Actor

Abra, Respeto

Nonie Buencamino, Smaller and Smaller Circles

Timothy Castillo, Neomanila

Noel Comia Jr., Kiko Boksingero

Allen Dizon, Bomba

RS Francisco, Bhoy Intsik

Jojit Lorenzo, Changing Partners

Empoy Marquez, Kita Kita

Sandino Martin, Changing Partners

Justine Samson, Balangiga: Howling Wilderness


Best Supporting Actress

Yayo Aguila, Kiko Boksingero

Angeli Bayani, Maestra

Shamaine Buencamino, Paki

Jasmine Curtis-Smith, Siargao

Chai Fonacier, Respeto

Nathalie Hart, Historiographika Errata

Odette Khan, Bar Boys

Menchu Lauchengco-Yulo, Ang Larawan

Gloria Sevilla, Maestra

Best Supporting Actor

John Arcilla, Birdshot

Robert Arevalo, Ang Larawan

Romulo Caballero, The Chanters

Dido De la Paz, Respeto

Pio Del Rio, Balangiga: Howling Wilderness

Nor Domingo, Respeto

Ronwaldo Martin, Bhoy Intsik

Jess Mendoza, Sa Gabing Nanahimik ang mga Kuliglig

Arnold Reyes, Birdshot

Best Screenplay

Sigrid Andrea P. Bernardo, Kita Kita

Ronald C. Carballo, Bhoy Intsik

Njel De Mesa and Alberto Monteras II, Respeto

Christopher Gozum, Dapol Tan Payawar Na Tayug 1931

Jerry Gracio and Khavn dela Cruz, Balangiga: Howling Wilderness

Andrian Legaspi and John Bedia, The Chanters

Arnel Mardoquio, Tu Pug Imatuy

Kip Oebanda, Bar Boys

Best Cinematography

Ike Avellana, Respeto

Albert Banzon, Balangiga: Howling Wilderness

Mycko David, Birdshot

Mycko David, Neomanila

Bryan Jimenez and Arbi Barbarona, Tu Pug Imatuy

TM Malones, Baconaua

JA Tadena, Smaller and Smaller Circles

Best Production Design

Bagwani Ampalayo, Tu Pug Imatuy

Popo Diaz, Respeto

GIno Gonzales, Ang Larawan

Marielle Hizon, Baconaua

Ericson Navarro, Smaller and Smaller Circles

Daniel Red, Neomanila

Thesa Tang, Kita Kita

Marija Vicente, Timmy Harn, Zeus Bascon, Balangiga: Howling Wilderness

Best Editing

Lawrence Ang, Respeto

Arnel Barbarona, Tu Pug Imatuy

Lawrence Fajardo, Ang Larawan

Jay Halili, Smaller and Smaller Circles

Marya Ignacio, Kita Kita

Marya Ignacio, Changing Partners

Carlo Francisco Manatad, Balangiga: Howling Wilderness

John Anthony Wong, Boy Intsik

Best Music

Arnel Barbarona, Tu Pug Imatuy

Ryan Cayabyab, Ang Larawan

Vincent de Jesus, Changing Partners

Jay Durias, Respeto

Erwin Fajardo, The Chanters

Khavn, Balangiga: Howling Wilderness

Lutgardo Labad and Odoni Pestelos, Smaller and Smaller Circles

Best Sound

KC Caballero, Ang Larawan

Aian Caro, Birdshot

Corrine de San Jose, Respeto

Stephen Lopez, Balangiga: Howling Wilderness

Mikko Quizon, Changing Partners

Jeff Sabayle, Tu Pug Imatuy

Immanuel Verona, The Chanters

Best Documentary

Jose S. Buenconsejo, Seven Dances of Life

JL Burgos, Han-Ayan

Sari Dalena and Keith Sicat, History of the Underground

Ramona Diaz, Motherland

Phyllis Grande, Haunted: A Last Visit to the Red House

Nawruz Paguidopon, God BLISS Our Home

Dempster Samarista, Bundok Banahaw, Sacred and Profane

Victor Delotavo Tagaro and Toshihiko Uriu, Yield

Best Short Film

Glenn Barit, “Aliens Ata”

Christian Candelaria, “Sa Saiyang Isla”

Carl Adrian Chavez, “Sorry for the Inconvenience”

Kiri Dalena, “Gikan Sa Ngitngit Nga Kinailadman” (From the Dark Depths)

Keith Deligero, “Babylon”

Kyle Fermindoza, “Manggagarab”

Dennis Hubag, “Empyreus”

TM Malones, “Bawod”

Carlo Francisco Manatad, “Jodilerks Dela Cruz, Employee of the Month”

Roanna Mercado, “Piko”

Maje Papin and Ef Orpiada, Jr., “Lutab”

Joseph Vincent ′Xeph′ Suarez, “Si Astri Maka Si Tambulah” (Astri And Tambulah)

Edmund Telmo, “Redempsyon”

Kim Timan, “Caramel Child”

The hottest entertainment news straight to your inbox

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.
Read Next
Follow @CAbanillaINQ on Twitter
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: announced, Awards, Film, Gawad Urian, list, movie, nominees
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

Subscribe to our entertainment news

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and
acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

© Copyright 1997-2022 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.