Guillermo del Toro's ‘The Shape of Water' leads 2018 Critics' Choice Awards nominations | Inquirer Entertainment

Guillermo del Toro’s ‘The Shape of Water’ leads 2018 Critics’ Choice Awards nominations

/ 09:43 PM December 07, 2017

Mexican director Guillermo del Toro’s magical romance leads the nominations for the 23rd Critics’ Choice Awards with 14. “Dunkirk”, “The Post”, “Call Me by Your Name” and “Lady Bird” have eight nominations each.

After crowning “La La Land” in 2017, Guillermo del Toro’s “The Shape of Water” seems to have caught the eye of the Broadcast Film Critics Association ahead of this year’s Critics’ Choice Awards. The movie is this year’s big favorite with 14 nominations.


In the top category, for Best Picture, the movie goes up against “Dunkirk”, “The Post”, “Call Me By Your Name” and “Lady Bird” all of which have eight nominations. Also nominated for Best Picture are “The Florida Project”, “The Big Sick”, “Get Out”, “Darkest Hour” and “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”.


In the television categories, anthology series “Feud” leads the way with six nominations, ahead of “Big Little Lies” and “Fargo” with five apiece.

The 23rd Critics’ Choice Awards ceremony will be held Jan. 11, 2018.

Nominations in main categories for the 23 Critics’ Choice Awards:

Film categories

Best Picture
“The Big Sick”
“Call Me by Your Name”
“The Florida Project”
“Get Out”
“Lady Bird”
“Darkest Hour”
“The Shape of Water”
“The Post”
“Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”

Best Actor
Timothée Chalamet for “Call Me by Your Name”
James Franco for “The Disaster Artist”
Jake Gyllenhaal for “Stronger”
Tom Hanks for “The Post”
Daniel Kaluuya for “Get Out”
Daniel Day-Lewis for “Phantom Thread”
Gary Oldman for “Darkest Hour”


Best Actress
Jessica Chastain for “Molly’s Game”
Sally Hawkins for “The Shape of Water”
Frances McDormand for “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”
Margot Robbie for “I, Tonya”
Saoirse Ronan for “Lady Bird”
Meryl Streep for “The Post”

Best Acting Ensemble
“Lady Bird”
“The Post”
“Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”

Best Director
Guillermo del Toro for “The Shape of Water”
Greta Gerwig for “Lady Bird”
Martin McDonagh for “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”
Christopher Nolan for “Dunkirk”
Luca Guadagnino for “Call Me By Your Name”
Jordan Peele for “Get Out”
Steven Spielberg for “The Post”

Television categories

Best Drama Series
“American Gods”
“The Crown”
“Game of Thrones”
“The Handmaid’s Tale”
“Stranger Things”
“This Is Us”

Best Comedy Series
“The Big Bang Theory”
“The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel”
“Modern Family”

Best Actor in a Drama Series
Sterling K. Brown for “This Is Us”
Paul Giamatti for “Billions”
Freddie Highmore for “Bates Motel”
Ian McShane for “American Gods”
Bob Odenkirk for “Better Call Saul”
Liev Schreiber for “Ray Donovan”

Best Actress in a Drama Series
Caitriona Balfe for “Outlander”
Christine Baranski for “The Good Fight”
Claire Foy for “The Crown”
Tatiana Maslany for “Orphan Black”
Elisabeth Moss for “The Handmaid’s Tale”
Robin Wright for “House of Cards”

Best Actor in a Comedy Series
Anthony Anderson for “Black-ish”
Aziz Ansari for “Master of None”
Hank Azaria for “Brockmire”
Ted Danson for “The Good Place”
Thomas Middleditch for “Silicon Valley”
Randall Park for “Fresh Off the Boat”

Best Actress in a Comedy Series
Kristen Bell for “The Good Place”
Alison Brie for “GLOW”
Rachel Brosnahan for “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel”
Sutton Foster for “Younger”
Ellie Kemper for “Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt”
Constance Wu for “Fresh Off the Boat”

Best Limited Series
“American Vandal”
“Big Little Lies”
“Feud: Bette and Joan”
“The Long Road Home”

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.


WATCH: Meryl Streep, Tom Hanks, and Steven Spielberg’s ‘The Post’ get first trailer

TAGS: "Pan's Labyrinth", Dunkirk, Guillermo del Toro, The Post, The Shape of Water

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.