Rihanna, Anne Hathaway to join all-female 'Ocean's Eight' cast | Inquirer Entertainment

Rihanna, Anne Hathaway to join all-female ‘Ocean’s Eight’ cast

/ 06:52 PM August 12, 2016

After the shocking box-office setback of “Ghostbusters” and its all-female crew, another female film may yet counter this defeat–eight female Hollywood powerhouses will join forces in the upcoming remake of “Ocean’s Eight.”

The “Ocean’s Eleven” spin-off, which is dubbed as “Ocean’s Ocho,” will cast Rihanna, Anne Hathaway, Sandra Bullock and Cate Blanchett. Helena Bonham Carter, Mindy Kaling and rapper Awkwafina will make appearances in the heist remake. The eighth lady culprit will be announced soon.


The film will be co-written by Gary Ross, who was the director of “The Hunger Games” and “Pleasantville,” and produced by Steven Soderbergh, who directed 2001 George Clooney’s “Ocean’s Eleven” franchise, according to the Hollywood Reporter. The film’s script will be penned by Ross and Olivia Milch.

The movie is slated to kick off its production in October in New York but no official release date was revealed, Deadline reported.


The three previous films, which throned Clooney, Matt Damon and Brad Pitt, circulated on a plot of bank thieves successfully ransacking casinos in Las Vegas and Europe. The series earned $1.1 billion (P51.3 billion) at the global box office.

The original film shown in 1960 starred Frank Sinatra, who played Danny Ocean, and Dean Martin, who played Sam Harmon.  Gianna Francesca Catolico

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Anne Hathaway, Awkwafina, Cate Blanchett, Helena Bonham Carter, Mindy Kaling, Ocean's Eight, Ocean’s 11, Rihanna, Sandra Bullock
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2022 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.