Vilma Santos, most successful Filipino actor of all time, receives NCCA award

/ 11:04 PM February 12, 2015
Vilma Santos receives Ani ng Dangal award from NCCA Chairman Felipe de Leon Jr. as NCCA official Teddy Kho looks on

Vilma Santos receives Ani ng Dangal award from NCCA Chairman Felipe de Leon Jr. as NCCA official Teddy Kho looks on

Batangas Governor and multi-awarded actress Vilma Santos led several artists from various disciplines in this year’s Ani ng Dangal awards given by the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA) in ceremonies at the National Museum of the Philippines on Feb. 12.

The Ani ng Dangal is given to Filipino artists who have won international awards the previous year.


Santos got the  special award for winning best actresss in the 2014 Dhaka International Film Festival in Bangladesh for the critically acclaimed and commercially successful 2013 Cinemamalaya movie, “Ekstra,” in which she deglamorized herself to play a movie and television bit player.

Santos, widely considered the most lastingly successful Filipino movie and television actor of all time, made the acceptance remarks on behalf of the other awardees, many of whom came like her from the media arts as well.


Other awardees for film and TV: Lav Diaz for winning the grand prize in the 2014 Locarno Film Festival in Switzerland; actress Hazel Tapales Orencio; Siege Ledesma’s “Shift,” “ Patricia Evangelista’s “The Barber of Guiuan,” Will Fredo and Ida Tiongson’s “In Nominee Matris,” Joel Lamangan’s “Kamkam,” Francis Pasion’s “Bwaya,” Roberto Reyes Ang’s “TNT,” Carlo Obispo’s “Purok 7,” Eduardo Roy’s “Quick Change” and Pamela Reyes and Mikhail Red’s “Rekorder.”

Other from cinema: Jun Lana, Ronnie Quizon, Jake Cuenca, Liza Diño, Allen Dizon, Diane Ventura, Justen Aguillon, Nerissa Picadizo, Sandy Talag and Miggs Cuaderno.

For the visual arts: Ronnie Dayo, Robert John Cabagnot, Glenn Isaac, Mario Cardenas, Kenneth Cobonpue, Jophel Botero Ybiosa, Gina Meneses, Phoebelyn Gullunan, Jamille Blanca Aguilar, James Singlador, Danilo Victoriano, Ruston Banal, Trisha Co Reyes, Justen Paul Tolentino, Jamia Mei Tolentino, Jesus Ramos Tejada and Maria Angelica Tejada.

For dance: Halili-Cruz Ballet Company, A Team, Xtreme Dancers, Johnny Sustantivo Villanueva, Miguel Leopoldo, Kayleen Mae Ortiz and Margaret Chua Lao.

For literature: Sophia Marie Lee, winner of Scholastic Asian Book Award.

Foe music: Lloyd Edisonne Judilla Montebon, Novo Concertante Manila Choir, Saint Louie University Glee Club, Alvin Paulin and Aleron Choir.

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Ani ng Dangal awards, NCCA award, NCCA Chairman Felipe de Leon Jr., Vilma Santos
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2020 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.