AnakTV honors most child-friendly programs and stars

/ 07:30 AM November 29, 2014
Karen Davila.

Karen Davila.

AnakTV will honor the choices made by thousands of Filipino jurors after a year-long assessment of television programs. The association of TV networks will also recognize personalities selected as worthy of emulation by children, by inducting them into the Roster of Makabata Stars.

The iconic seal on Philippine television, AnakTV, is bestowed by parents, teachers, NGOs and other sectors of society on programs that are wholesome and child-safe. It’s a seal not found anywhere else in the world, AnakTV being a movement that flourishes only in the Philippines.


A total of 109 programs nationwide were declared family-friendly after nine months of tedious and thorough evaluation covering several screening sessions: Net 25 led the winners by taking home 22 seals. ABS-CBN national and regional stations took home 18 seals; GMA News TV and GMA Network received a total of 19. UNTV received 17, PTV brought home 15, while TV5 got two. The rest of the remaining seals were shared by Zoe-Light TV, Studio 23 and IBC. Solar ETC is the only major free-to-air station that is not a member of the organization.

Annual surveys


The awards rites will be held at the SGI Auditorium. To be elevated into the Makabata Hall of Fame are Angel Locsin and Karen Davila, who have consistently topped the annual surveys for the past eight years. They join the Hall of Fame, which now includes Gary Valenciano, Mike Enriquez, Mel Tiangco, Julius Babao, Korina Sanchez, Jessica Soho, Sarah Geronimo and Bernadette Sembrano.

The annual Boto Ko ‘To survey winners will be feted by broadcast colleagues, media and NGOs cheering the awardees. Selected this year by the national jury as the most “credible, wholesome and worthy of emulation” are Coco Martin, Daniel Padilla, Dingdong Dantes, Kim Atienza, Noli de Castro, Richard Yap, Ted Failon, Vic Sotto, Boy Abunda, Atom Araullo, Enrique Gil, Vhong Navarro, Daniel Razon, Charo Santos, Jodi Sta. Maria, Judy Ann Santos, Kathryn Bernardo, Kim Chiu, Anne Curtis, Toni Gonzaga, Marian Rivera, Alex Gonzaga, Arlene Razon and Sen. Miriam Defensor Santiago.

Magic circle

The only other politician to enter the magic circle in the past had been Senator Chiz Escudero, in 2008.

Programs bestowed the AnakTV Seal for 2014 are:

ABS-CBN: “Agri Tayo Dito,” “Bayanijuan,” “Be Careful With My Heart,” “Bida Kapampangan,” “Honesto,” “MagTV na Amiga” (Bacolod), “MagTV na Cebu,” “MagTV Na Deaton Este” (Zamboanga), “MagTV Na, Atin To” (Baguio), “MagTV Na, Ato Ni” (CDO), “MagTV Na, Magnegosyo Ta” (Davao), “MagTV Na, Oragon” (Naga), “Marhay Na Aga, Kapamilya”, “Matanglawin,” “Mutya ng Masa,” “My Puhunan,” “Salamat Dok,” and “Wansapanataym.”

PTV: “6th Asean Quiz,” “Be Alive,” “Biyaheng Langit,” “Good Morning Boss!,” “GSIS Members’ Hour,” “Kasangga Ko Ang Langit,” “Lakbayin ang Magandang Pilipinas,” “[email protected] Junior Edition,” “One Vision, One Identity, One Community,” “Oras ng Himala,” “Power to Unite,” “PTV Sports,” “Signs and Wonders,” “The Doctor Is In,” and “The Veronica Chronicles.”


TV5: “Pinoy Explorer” and “Who Wants To Be A Millionaire?”

GMA Network: “Aha!,” “Del Monte Kitchenomics,” “I-Bilib,” “Kap’s Amazing Stories,” “Kapuso Mo, Jessica Soho,” “Kusina Master,” “Let’s Fiesta,” “Pepito Manaloto,” “Picture! Picture!,” “Pinoy MD,” “Sarap Diva,” “Tropang Potchi,” and “Wish Ko Lang.”

GMA News TV: “Ang Pinaka,” “Born To Be Wild,” “Good News,” “I Juander,” “Idol sa Kusina,” and “Taste Buddies.”

IBC: “Kerygma”

ABS-CBN Sports and Action: “Biyaheng Bulilit”

NET 25: “Aprub,” “Bundesliga,” “Faith and Family,” “Finish Line,” “Gabay sa Mabuting Asal,” “Hashtag,” “In Focus,” “In Good Shape,” “Iglesia Ni Cristo Chronicles,” “Iglesia ni Cristo International,” “INC Kids’ Corner,” “Landmarks,” “Let’s Sing,” “My Life,” “Paninindigan,” “Sessions on 25th Street,” “Spoon,” “Stories of Faith,” “Tagarito Kami,” “The Message,” “Tomorrow Today,” and “Trabaho Ko ‘To.”

Light (Zoe) TV: “Diyos at Bayan,” “Healthy Life,” “I Love ‘Pinas,” “Ignite Gospel Music Festival,” “Jesus, the Healer,” “Lifegiver,” “Light Up,” “Midnight Prayer Helps,” “Pisobilities,” “PJM Forum,” “Road to Emmaus Village,” “Sarap Pinoy,” “Solemn Sessions,” and “This Is My Story, This Is My Song.”

UNTV: “Song of Praise,” “Bread and Butter,” “Cook Eat Right,” “Doctors on TV,” “Easy Lang ‘Yan,” “Good Morning, Kuya,” “How Authentic The Bible Is,” “Istorya; Kaagapay,” “KNC Show,” “Mapalad Ang Bumabasa,” “Munting Pangarap,” “Quick Action Team,” “Rise and Shine,” “Rotary in Action,” “Sports 37,” and “UNTV Cup.”

AnakTV is run by officers led by Elvira Yap Go, president; Leng Raymundo, vice president; Ma. Teresa Pacis, secretary; Mag Cruz Hatol, secretary-general; Ed Roces, chair, with Mikee Cojuangco-Jaworski as official spokesperson. The foundation is at the forefront of a media literacy campaign that diligently goes to the grassroots.

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: AnakTV, Angel Locsin, award, Karen Davila, Television
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2020 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.