Wednesday, November 21, 2018
  • share this

Aquino reappoints Villareal as MTRCB chief

By: - Reporter
/ 08:40 PM January 11, 2014

Atty. Eugenio H. Villareal. INQUIRER FILE PHOTO

MANILA, Philippines – President Benigno S. Aquino III on Saturday reappointed lawyer Eugenio H. Villareal as chairman of the Movie and Television Review and Classification Board (MTRCB), Malacanang said.

Villareal’s term will expire on September 30 this year.


The Palace said Aquino also reappointed MTRCB Vice Chairperson Emmanuel H. Borlaza and Executive Director Victoriano S. Muring Jr.

Their appointment papers were signed by Aquino on January 3.


The MTRCB said its job was not only to review and classify movies and TV programs, “but [to be] a prime catalyst of change by helping the movie and television industry become globally competitive.”

“The agency recognizes the TV and movie media as indispensable tools for moral recovery and nation building. The MTRCB, as a regulatory board, aims to afford the public exemplary exhibitions of movies and television shows with the purpose of encouraging the production of globally competitive movies which should be both entertaining and artistic, in order to raise the standard of art for the general public,” it said.

The other members of the MTRCB who will remain in their posts are Robert R. Andrews, Jaime A. Bengzon, Patrocinia D. Binungcal, Manuel R. Buising, Ma. Gabriella R. Concepcion, Francia C. Conrado, Nicasio D. Cruz, Ma. Marta Ines A. Dayrit, Teresita R. Daza, Noel R. Del Prado, Carmencita A. Guerrero, Mario A. Hernando, Marra Lanot, Eric Henry Joseph F. Mallonga, Anna-Lissa S. Martinez, Maria Carmen S. Musngi, Leah L. Navarro, Cecilia L. Nubla, Jay C. Revestir, Jose G. Romero IV, Elizabeth O. Siguion-Reyna, Rommel M. Sogueco, Gladys Reyes-Sommereux, Benedicto H. Tarnate Sr., Jose Antonio K. Veloso, Teresita B. Villarama, and Alfred A. Yuson.

The two new appointees as MTRCB members are Ricardo M. Salomon Jr., and Ma. Lourdes Lilia Espinosa-Supnet.

Salomon replaced Catherine S. Babao-Guballa and Espinosa-Supnet replaced Ma. Lourdes Bautista.

Aquino also filled on January 3 vacant positions in the Department of Trade and Industry, Department of Environment and Natural Resources, Philippine National Oil Co. and Philippine Postal Savings Bank.

Daria R. Mingaracal was appointed Director II at the DTI, Henry A. Adornado was named Acting Director III at the DENR, while Sabino R. Dapat, Dante B. Canlas, Corazon R. Estrella and Teresita M. Borra were appointed directors of the PNOC Alternative Fuels Corp.


The President appointed the following to the board of the Philippine Postal Savings Bank: Ma. Josefina M. de la Cruz, Cesar N. Sarino, Victor N. Alimurung, Mariano O. Aureus Jr., Fidel A. Bugayong, Jay Lacsamana, Mario C. Lorenzo, Bituin V. Salcedo and Joselito H. Sibayan.

Related Stories:

Toto Villareal, MTRCB chief: I have to walk my talk

Lawyer Villareal is the new MTRCB chair

Read Next
Follow @NCorralesINQ on Twitter
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Benigno Aquino III, Eugenio “Toto” Villareal, MTRCB
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2018 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.