Wednesday, June 20, 2018
  • share this

Marian, Gerald rule show biz press awards

By: - Reporter
/ 06:57 PM March 04, 2013


Marian Rivera, usually unflappable, was teary-eyed as she accepted her first best actress trophy on Friday from the Entertainment Press (Enpress) at the 2012 Golden Screen TV Awards held at Teatrino in Greenhills, San Juan City.

For her performance in the historical drama series “Amaya” on GMA 7, Rivera bested five other contenders, including biz heavyweights Nora Aunor (“Sa Ngalan ng Ina”) and Dawn Zulueta (“Walang Hanggan”).

Rivera, 28, held up the trophy for outstanding actress in a drama series and dedicated it to her family, friends and boyfriend Dingdong Dantes, earlier declared outstanding original reality program host for the talent search “Protégé.”


‘Budoy’ wins

Kapamilya star Gerald Anderson, currently embroiled in various controversies, found reason to celebrate in his best actor triumph for the drama series “Budoy.” Sylvia Sanchez won best actress in drama for “Untold Stories,” aired on TV5.

Neil Ryan Sese (for “Munting Heredera) and Paulo Avelino (“Walang Hanggan”) tied for best supporting actor. Helen Gamboa won best supporting actress also for “Walang Hanggan.”

GERALD Anderson

Breakthrough actor and actress were Richard Yap (for “My Binondo Girl”) and Jasmine Curtis-Smith (for “Ang Utol Kong Hoodlum”). Both were first-time acting awardees.

Stalwarts cited

Enpress paid homage, via the Helen Vela Lifetime Achievement award, to actresses Gloria Romero (drama) and Nova Villa (comedy) and news anchor Mel Tiangco (broadcasting).

Actor/director Eddie Garcia dedicated his Dolphy Lifetime Achievement award to the late Comedy King.

TV5 also won best adapted drama series for “Valiente” and original reality talent show for “Talentadong Pinoy.” ABS-CBN was proclaimed outstanding network for 2012.


Other winners

EDDIE Garcia

The other winners are: educational program: “AHA!” (GMA 7); educational program host: Drew Arellano, “AHA!”; magazine TV program: “iJuander” (GMA News); magazine TV hosts: Susan Enriquez and Cesar Apolinario, “iJuander”;

Lifestyle program: “Kris TV” (ABS-CBN); lifestyle program host: Kris Aquino, “Kris TV”; public affairs program: “Failon Ngayon” (ABS-CBN); public affairs program host: Winnie Monsod, “Bawal Ang Pasaway Kay Mareng Winnie” (GMA News TV);

Public service program: “Wish Ko Lang” (GMA 7); public affairs program host: Vicky Morales, “Wish Ko Lang”; celebrity talk program: “Bottomline with Boy Abunda” (ABS-CBN); celebrity talk program host: Boy Abunda, “Bottomline”;

Documentary: “Philippine Treasures” (GMA 7); documentary program host:  Kara David, “iWitness” (GMA 7); news program: “State of the Nation” (GMA News TV); male news presenter: Julius Babao, “Bandila” (ABS-CBN); female news presenter: Vicky Morales, “Saksi” (GMA 7).

Show biz talk program: “Showbiz Inside Report” (ABS-CBN); male talk program host: Boy Abunda, “The Buzz” (ABS-CBN); female talk program host: Janice de Belen, “Showbiz Inside Report” (ABS-CBN);

Adapted reality competition program: “Survivor Philippines: Doubles Celebrity Showdown” (GMA-7);  adapted reality competition program hosts: Luis Manzano and Billy Crawford,


“Pilipinas Got Talent” (ABS-CBN);

Natural history/wildlife program: “Failon Ngayon” (ABS-CBN, for the episode “Latak ng Minahan”); natural history/wildlife program host: Kim Atienza, “Matanglawin.”

Crime/investigative program: “XXX” (ABS-CBN); crime investigative program hosts: Pinky Webb, Anthony Taberna and Julius Babao, “XXX”; news magazine program: “Patrol ng Pilipino” (ABS-CBN); news magazine program host: Karen Davila and Anthony Taberna, “Ako Ang Simula” (ABS-CBN).

Gag program: “Bubble Gang” (GMA 7); comedy program: “Pepito Manaloto” (GMA 7); supporting actor in a gag or comedy Program: John Feir, “Pepito Manaloto”; supporting actress in a gag or comedy program: Sheena Halili, “Tweets for My Sweet” (GMA 7);

JULIA Clarete

Performance by an actor in a gag or comedy program: Ogie Alcasid, “Bubble Gang”; performance by an actress in a gag or comedy program: Angelica Panganiban, “Banana Split” (ABS-CBN);

Variety program: “Eat Bulaga!” (GMA 7); musical program: “ASAP 2012” (ABS-CBN); male host in a musical or variety program: Ryan Agoncillo, “Eat Bulaga” (GMA 7); female host in a musical or variety program: Julia Clarete, “Eat Bulaga”;

Single Drama: “Maalaala Mo Kaya” (ABS-CBN); original drama series: “Walang Hanggan”; performance by an actor in a single drama show or telemovie: Coco Martin, “Maalaala Mo Kaya.”

Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: 2012 Golden Screen TV Awards, Entertainment, Gerald Anderson, Marian Rivera
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2018 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.