MMFF: Nora Aunor is Best Actress; Dingdong Dantes, Best Actor


MANILA, Philippines—Nora Aunor won the Best Actress for her role in “Thy Womb” while “One More Try” actor Dingdong Dantes bagged the Best Actor honor in the Metro Manila Film Festival Awards Night held Thursday  at the Meralco Theater in Pasig City.

Cesar Montano won as Best Supporting Actor for his role in the film “El Presidente” and the Best Supporting Actress went to Wilma Doesnt of “Sisterakas.”

Montano’s win gave ‘El Presidente’ 5 awards so far in the glittering rites hosted by KC Concepcion and Kris Aquino.

The list of MMFF winners:

Best Supporting Actor: Cesar Montano for `El Presidente’

FPJ Memorial Award: ‘One More Try’ by Ruel S. Bayani

Best Sound: Albert Michael Idioma in ‘El Presidente’

Best Score: Jessie Lassaten, ‘El Presidente’

Best Theme Song: ‘El Presidente’ by Apldeap and Jamir Garcia

MMFF New Wave Actor: Alan Paule for ‘Gayak’. Actress: Liza Dino of ‘In Nomine Matris’

MMFF New Wave Beat Director: Tyrone Acierto for ‘The Grave Bandits’

MMFF New Wave Special Jury: ‘Ad Ignorantiam’ by Armando ‘Bing’ Lao

MMFF New Wave Best Picture: ‘The Grave Bandits’ by Tyrone Acierto

MMFF Awards: Make-up: ‘El Presidente’ (Warren Munar and Company)

Best Visual Effects:  Imaginary Friends and Black Burst for ‘Shake, Rattle & Roll 14: The Invasion’

Production Design: Brillante Ma Mendoza ‘Sa Iyong Sinapupunan’

Editing: Vito Kahili for ‘One More Try’

Cinematography: Odyssey Flores, ‘Thy Womb’

Special Award for Gender Sensitivity: Will Fredo for In Nomine Matris (New Wave); Manibela by Roberto Pagotan (Student’s Shorts); “Thy Womb”(Mainstream)

FPJ Memorial Award: “One More Try” by Ruel Bayani

Supporting Actor: Cesar Montano for El Presidente; Supporting Actress: Wilma Doesn’t for Sisterakas

Male star of the night: Joseph Estraa; Female: Nora Aunor.

Special Award SMDC Male Celebrity of the night: Zanjoe Marudo. Special Award SMDC Female Celebrity of the night: Bianca King

Best Written Story: Henry Burgos for Thy Womb

Best Director: Brillante Mendoza for Thy womb

Best Screenplay: Anna Karenina Ramos and Company for One More Try

Gatpuno Antonio Villegas award: Thy Womb

Best Picture: One More Try

Second Best Picture: El Presidente

Third Best Picture: Sisterakas

Get Inquirer updates while on the go, add us on these apps:

Inquirer Viber

Disclaimer: The comments uploaded on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.

  • the_impostor

    fourth best picture?
    best recycled movie?

    mga kapamilya at kapuso wag na kau mag away, lipat na lang tau sa kapatid hehehe

To subscribe to the Philippine Daily Inquirer newspaper in the Philippines, call +63 2 896-6000 for Metro Manila and Metro Cebu or email your subscription request here.

Factual errors? Contact the Philippine Daily Inquirer's day desk. Believe this article violates journalistic ethics? Contact the Inquirer's Reader's Advocate. Or write The Readers' Advocate:

c/o Philippine Daily Inquirer Chino Roces Avenue corner Yague and Mascardo Streets, Makati City,Metro Manila, Philippines Or fax nos. +63 2 8974793 to 94


editors' picks



latest videos