U2 releases full album details, tour dates

U2's "Songs of Experience" is out Dec. 1. Image: AFP Relaxnews

U2’s “Songs of Experience” is out Dec. 1. Image: AFP Relaxnews

U2 has announced details of its hotly anticipated album “Songs of Experience”, which is due out Dec. 1, and revealed that it will be supported by a North American tour kicking off next spring.

“Songs of Experience”, the band’s 14th studio album, is inspired by advice given to lead singer Bono to “write as if you’re dead” and is being called “a collection of songs in the form of intimate letters to places and people close to the singer’s heart.”

On Wednesday, U2 revealed the album’s track listing, with 13 tracks included on the album and four bonus tracks added to the deluxe version.

Those who pre-order the album will get three instant downloads: the previously released tracks “You’re the Best Thing About Me” and “The Blackout”, as well as a brand-new track, “Get Out of Your Own Way”, which features a spoken word contribution from Kendrick Lamar and is also already available to stream.

The band has also revealed they’ll head out on tour in North America in support of the album, with shows so far scheduled through late June. Dates can be found at their official site.

Finally, the artwork for the album has been unveiled, shot by photographer and longtime collaborator Anton Corbijn. It also feature Eli Hewson and Sian Evens, the teenage children of the band’s members. JB


LISTEN: Morrissey’s new track ‘I Wish You Lonely’ gives sampling of upcoming album


Disney requires US cinemas to show ‘Star Wars: The Last Jedi’ in biggest theaters